
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 926 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 297F.01, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.4 to read:​

1.5 Subd. 13b. Premium cigar endorsee. "Premium cigar endorsee" means a licensed​

1.6 tobacco products distributor with the license endorsement under section 297F.03, subdivision​

1.7 4a.​

1.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

1.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 297F.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

1.10 read:​

1.11 Subd. 4a. License endorsement for premium cigars to be sold out of this state. (a)​

1.12 A licensed tobacco products distributor may obtain a license endorsement allowing the​

1.13 distributor to bring premium cigars into Minnesota exempt from tax imposed under this​

1.14 chapter provided the requirements of section 297F.06, subdivision 6, are satisfied.​

1.15 (b) Each applicant or premium cigar endorsee must file with the commissioner a bond​

1.16 issued by a corporate surety in good standing and authorized to do business in this state.​

1.17 The bond must:​

1.18 (1) be in a form prescribed by the commissioner;​

1.19 (2) name the commissioner as the obligee;​

1.20 (3) be in the amount of $50,000, or a greater amount if the commissioner finds a greater​

1.21 amount is needed to fully protect the state based on an applicant or premium cigar endorsee's​

1.22 past or current tax liabilities or noncompliance with tax laws and regulations;​
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2.1 (4) be payable to the commissioner for any delinquent tax of the premium cigar endorsee​

2.2 under this chapter, and any related fees, penalties, and accrued interest; and​

2.3 (5) cover the place of business within the state where tobacco products are received by​

2.4 the applicant or premium cigar endorsee.​

2.5 The applicant or license endorsee shall designate and maintain an agent in this state upon​

2.6 which service may be made for all purposes of this section.​

2.7 (c) A separate license endorsement and separate bond is required for each tobacco​

2.8 products distributor location where products that qualify for this exemption are stored.​

2.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

2.10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 297F.04, is amended to read:​

2.11 297F.04 LICENSE SUSPENSION, CANCELLATION, NONRENEWAL, OR​

2.12 REVOCATION.​

2.13 Subdivision 1. Powers of commissioner. The commissioner may revoke or suspend the​

2.14 license or licenses, and any endorsement or endorsements, of any distributor or subjobber​

2.15 for violation of this chapter, any other act applicable to the sale of cigarettes or tobacco​

2.16 products, or any rule promulgated by the commissioner, in furtherance of this chapter.​

2.17 Subd. 2. Refusal to issue or renew; revocation. The commissioner must not issue or​

2.18 renew a license or endorsement under this chapter, and may revoke a license or endorsement​

2.19 under this chapter, if the applicant or licensee:​

2.20 (1) owes $500 or more in delinquent taxes as defined in section 270C.72, subdivision​

2.21 2;​

2.22 (2) after demand, has not filed tax returns required by the commissioner;​

2.23 (3) had a cigarette or tobacco license revoked by the commissioner within the past two​

2.24 years;​

2.25 (4) had a sales and use tax permit revoked by the commissioner within the past two​

2.26 years; or​

2.27 (5) has been convicted of a crime involving cigarettes or tobacco products, including​

2.28 but not limited to: selling stolen cigarettes or tobacco products, receiving stolen cigarettes​

2.29 or tobacco products, or involvement in the smuggling of cigarettes or tobacco products; or​

2.30 (6) is a premium cigar endorsee and fails to comply with requirements under section​

2.31 297F.06, subdivision 6.​
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3.1 Subd. 2a. Cancellation or nonrenewal. The commissioner may cancel a license and​

3.2 any endorsement or not renew a license and any endorsement if one of the following​

3.3 conditions occurs:​

3.4 (1) the license holder has not filed a cigarette or tobacco products tax return for at least​

3.5 one year;​

3.6 (2) the license holder has not reported any cigarette or tobacco products tax liability on​

3.7 the license holder's returns for at least one year; or​

3.8 (3) the license holder requests cancellation of the license.​

3.9 Subd. 3. Notice. No license or endorsement may be revoked or suspended under this​

3.10 chapter, and no application for a license or endorsement may be denied under this chapter,​

3.11 except after 20 days' notice. In that notice the commissioner shall specify the allegations​

3.12 against the licensee, endorsee, or applicant, and provide the licensee, endorsee, or applicant​

3.13 the right to request in writing within 20 days a contested case hearing as provided in chapter​

3.14 14.​

3.15 If a written request for a hearing is received by the Department of Revenue within 20​

3.16 days of the date of the initial notice, the hearing must be held within 45 days after referral​

3.17 to the Office of Administrative Hearings, and no earlier than 20 days after notice to the​

3.18 licensee, endorsee, or applicant of the hearing time and place. A license or endorsement is​

3.19 revoked or suspended, and an application is denied, when the commissioner serves notice​

3.20 of revocation, suspension, or denial after 20 days have passed following the initial notice​

3.21 under this paragraph without a request for hearing being made, or if a hearing is held, after​

3.22 the commissioner serves an order of revocation, suspension, or denial under section 14.62,​

3.23 subdivision 1. All notices under this paragraph may be served personally or by mail.​

3.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

3.25 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 297F.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

3.26 read:​

3.27 Subd. 6. Premium cigars sold outside this state. (a) Premium cigars brought into the​

3.28 state, or caused to be brought into the state, by a premium cigar endorsee are exempt from​

3.29 tax imposed under this chapter and are not contraband under section 297F.21 if:​

3.30 (1) the premium cigars are intended to be sold outside the state by the endorsee;​

3.31 (2) the premium cigars are delivered to the place of business covered by the endorsee's​

3.32 tobacco product distributor license and remain in that location until sold out of this state;​
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4.1 (3) the premium cigars are physically segregated from all other premium cigars, other​

4.2 tobacco products, and cigarettes possessed by the endorsee and not accessible to any retail​

4.3 outlet consumers;​

4.4 (4) the endorsee has a bond as required under section 297F.03, subdivision 4a;​

4.5 (5) the endorsee maintains records of all deliveries and shipments associated with the​

4.6 premium cigars; and​

4.7 (6) the endorsee files all forms and returns required under paragraph (c) and section​

4.8 297F.09, subdivision 2.​

4.9 (b) If a premium cigar endorsee fails to comply with the requirements in paragraph (a),​

4.10 the endorsee's premium cigars no longer qualify for the exemption under this subdivision​

4.11 and become subject to tax imposed under section 297F.05, subdivision 3a.​

4.12 (c) All premium cigars sold outside this state and that otherwise qualify for this exemption​

4.13 shall be listed on a form prescribed by the commissioner, showing the date of each sale, the​

4.14 number of invoices, the name and address of each purchaser, and the distributor's wholesale​

4.15 sales price unless permission is granted by the commissioner of revenue to furnish the​

4.16 information in some other manner. The form shall be filed with the commissioner on or​

4.17 before the 18th day of each calendar month following the date on which the premium cigar​

4.18 was sold outside this state.​

4.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for premium cigars brought into this​

4.20 state after December 31, 2025.​

4.21 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 297F.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

4.22 Subd. 2. Monthly return; tobacco products distributor. (a) On or before the 18th day​

4.23 of each calendar month, a distributor with a place of business in this state shall file a return​

4.24 with the commissioner showing the quantity and wholesale sales price of each tobacco​

4.25 product:​

4.26 (1) brought, or caused to be brought, into this state for sale; and​

4.27 (2) made, manufactured, or fabricated in this state for sale in this state, during the​

4.28 preceding calendar month.​

4.29 Every premium cigar endorsee must identify on the return the premium cigars brought​

4.30 into the state that qualify for the exemption under section 297F.06, subdivision 6. The return​

4.31 must also show the quantity and wholesale sales price of each premium cigar.​
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5.1 Every licensed distributor outside this state shall in like manner file a return showing​

5.2 the quantity and wholesale sales price of each tobacco product shipped or transported to​

5.3 retailers in this state to be sold by those retailers, during the preceding calendar month.​

5.4 Returns must be made in the form and manner prescribed by the commissioner and must​

5.5 contain any other information required by the commissioner. The return must be accompanied​

5.6 by a remittance for the full tax liability shown. For distributors subject to the accelerated​

5.7 tax payment requirements in subdivision 10, the return for the May liability is due two​

5.8 business days before June 30th of the year and the return for the June liability is due on or​

5.9 before August 18th of the year.​

5.10 (b) If a premium cigar endorsee decides it no longer intends to sell a premium cigar​

5.11 outside this state as allowed under section 297F.06, subdivision 6, the premium cigar​

5.12 endorsee must make a record of such decision, including the decision date, and, on or before​

5.13 the 18th day of the following calendar month, file a return with the commissioner showing​

5.14 the quantity and wholesale sales price of each premium cigar the endorsee no longer intends​

5.15 to sell outside the state. Returns must be made in the form and manner prescribed by the​

5.16 commissioner and must contain any other information required by the commissioner. The​

5.17 return must be accompanied by a remittance for the full tax liability shown. For distributors​

5.18 subject to the accelerated tax payment requirements in subdivision 10, the return for the​

5.19 May liability is due two business days before June 30th of the year and the return for the​

5.20 June liability is due on or before August 18th of the year.​

5.21 (c) If a premium cigar no longer qualifies for an exemption under section 297F.06,​

5.22 subdivision 6, for any reason other than that listed in paragraph (b), the premium cigar​

5.23 endorsee must, on or before the 18th day of the following calendar month, file a return with​

5.24 the commissioner showing the quantity and wholesale sales price of each premium cigar​

5.25 that no longer qualifies for the exemption. Returns must be made in the form and manner​

5.26 prescribed by the commissioner and must contain any other information required by the​

5.27 commissioner. The return must be accompanied by a remittance for the full tax liability​

5.28 shown. For distributors subject to the accelerated tax payment requirements in subdivision​

5.29 10, the return for the May liability is due two business days before June 30th of the year​

5.30 and the return for the June liability is due on or before August 18th of the year.​

5.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for premium cigars brought into this​

5.32 state after December 31, 2025."​

5.33 Amend the title accordingly​
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