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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2432 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"ARTICLE 1

PUBLIC SAFETY APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies

and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund,

or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.

The figures "2026" and "2027" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under

them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2026, or June 30, 2027, respectively.

"The first year" is fiscal year 2026. "The second year" is fiscal year 2027. "The biennium"

is fiscal years 2026 and 2027.

Sec. 2. SENTENCING GUIDELINES $

The agency's annual general fund base shall

be $1,084,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Sec. 3. PUBLIC SAFETY

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $
Appropriations by Fund
2026 2027
General 177,693,000 178,007,000

Special Revenue 21,497,000 21,397,000

Article 1 Sec. 3. 1

APPROPRIATIONS

Available for the Year

Ending June 30
2026

2027

1,076,000 $ 1,079,000

284,664,000 $ 270,881,000
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State Government

Special Revenue 103,000 103,000
Environmental 130,000 133,000
Trunk Highway 2,429,000 2,429,000
911 Fund 82,597,000 68,597,000
Workers'

Compensation 215,000 215,000

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Emergency Management 4,814,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 4,684,000 4,819,000

Environmental 130,000 133,000

This program's annual general fund base shall

be $5,059,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Subd. 3. Criminal Apprehension 112,929,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 110,278,000 110,435,000

State Government

Special Revenue 7,000 7,000

Trunk Highway 2,429,000 2,429,000

Workers'

Compensation 215,000 215,000

(a) DWI Lab Analysis; Trunk Highway

Fund

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections
161.045, subdivision 3, and 161.20,
subdivision 3, $2,429,000 each year is from

the trunk highway fund for staff and operating

costs for laboratory analysis related to

driving-while-impaired cases.

(b) Fraud and Financial Crime Unit

$1,810,000 each year from the general fund

and $215,000 each year from the workers'

Article 1 Sec. 3. 2
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compensation fund are for the Financial

Crimes and Fraud Section in Minnesota

Statutes, section 299C.061, and may not be

used for any other purpose.

(c) Base Adjustment

This program's annual general fund base shall

be $110,716,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Subd. 4. Fire Marshal 20,117,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 4,190,000 4,190,000

Special Revenue 15,927,000 15,827,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from

the fire safety account in the special revenue

fund and is for activities under Minnesota

Statutes, section 299F.012. The base

appropriation for this account is $15,927,000
in fiscal year 2028 and $15,827,000 in fiscal

year 2029.

(a) Hazardous Materials and Emergency

Response Teams

$2,170,000 the first year and $2,070,000 the

second year are from the fire safety account

for hazardous materials and emergency

response teams. The base for these purposes

is $2,170,000 in the first year of future

bienniums and $2,070,000 in the second year

of future bienniums.

(b) Bomb Squad Reimbursements

$250,000 from the fire safety account and

$50,000 from the general fund each year are

for reimbursements to local governments for

bomb squad services.

(c) Nonresponsible Party Reimbursements

Article 1 Sec. 3. 3
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$750,000 each year from the fire safety

account is for nonresponsible party hazardous

material, Urban Search and Rescue, Minnesota

Air Rescue Team, and bomb squad incident

reimbursements. Money appropriated for this

purpose is available for one year.

(d) Hometown Heroes Assistance Program

$4,000,000 each year from the general fund

is for grants to the Minnesota Firefighter

Initiative to fund the hometown heroes

assistance program established in Minnesota

Statutes, section 299A.477.

(e) Task Force 1

$1,425,000 each year from the fire safety

account is for the Minnesota Task Force 1.

(f) Task Force 2

$300,000 each year from the fire safety

account 1s for the Minnesota Task Force 2.

(g) Air Rescue

$500,000 each year from the fire safety

account is for the Minnesota Air Rescue Team.

Subd. 5. Firefighter Training and Education
Board 5,500,000

Appropriations by Fund
Special Revenue 5,500,000 5,500,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from

the fire safety account in the special revenue

fund and is for activities under Minnesota

Statutes, section 299F.012.

(a) Firefighter Training and Education

Article 1 Sec. 3. 4
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$5,500,000 each year from the fire safety

account is for firefighter training and

education.

(b) Unappropriated Revenue

Any additional unappropriated money

collected in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated

to the commissioner of public safety for the

purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section

299F.012. The commissioner may transfer

appropriations and base amounts between

activities in this subdivision.

Subd. 6. Alcohol and Gambling

Enforcement 3,879,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 3,809,000 3,826,000

Special Revenue 70,000 70,000

The special revenue fund appropriation is from

the lawful gambling regulation account.

This program's annual general fund base shall

be $3,855,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs 53,828,000
Appropriations by Fund
General 53,732,000 53,737,000

State Government
Special Revenue 96,000 96,000

(a) Prosecutor Training

$125,000 each year is for a grant to the

Minnesota County Attorneys Association to

be used for prosecutorial and law enforcement

training, including trial school training and

train-the-trainer courses. If any portion of this

appropriation is used to fund trial school or

training at the Minnesota County Attorneys

Association annual conference, the training

Article 1 Sec. 3. 5
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must contain blocks of instruction on racial

disparities in the criminal justice system,

collateral consequences to criminal

convictions, and trauma-informed responses

to victims. This is a onetime appropriation.

By February 15 of each year, the Minnesota

County Attorneys Association must provide

a report to the chairs, cochairs, and ranking

minority members of the legislative

committees and divisions with jurisdiction

over public safety policy and finance on the

training provided with grant proceeds,

including a description of each training and

the number of prosecutors and law

enforcement officers who received training.

(b) Intensive Comprehensive Peace Officer

Education and Training Program

$2,000,000 each year is to implement the

intensive comprehensive peace officer

education and training program described in

Minnesota Statutes, section 626.8516. This is

a onetime appropriation and is available

through June 30, 2029.

Subd. 8. Emergency Communication Networks 83,597,000
Appropriations by Fund

General 1,000,000 1,000,000

911 Fund 82,597,000 68,597,000

These appropriations are from the state

government special revenue fund for 911

emergency telecommunications services unless

otherwise indicated.

(a) Public Safety Answering Points

Article 1 Sec. 3. 6

H2432DE2
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$28,011,000 each year shall be distributed as

provided under Minnesota Statutes, section

403.113, subdivision 2.

(b) ARMER State Backbone Operating

Costs

$10,384,000 each year is transferred to the

commissioner of transportation for costs of

maintaining and operating the statewide radio

system backbone.

$14,000,000 the first year is transferred to the

commissioner of transportation for costs of

maintaining and operating the statewide radio

system backbone. This is a onetime

appropriation and is available until June 30,

2029.

(c) Statewide Emergency Communications

Board

$1,000,000 each year is to the Statewide

Emergency Communications Board. Funds

may be used for operating costs, to provide

competitive grants to local units of

government to fund enhancements to a

communication system, technology, or support

activity that directly provides the ability to

deliver the 911 call between the entry point to

the 911 system and the first responder, and to

further the strategic goals set forth by the

SECB Statewide Communication

Interoperability Plan.

(d) Statewide Public Safety Radio

Communication System Equipment Grants

$1,000,000 each year is appropriated from the

general fund for grants to local units of

government, federally recognized Tribal

Article 1 Sec. 3. 7

H2432DE2
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entities, and state agencies participating in the

statewide Allied Radio Matrix for Emergency

Response (ARMER) public safety radio

communication system established under

Minnesota Statutes, section 403.36,

subdivision le. The grants must be used to

purchase or upgrade portable radios, mobile

radios, and related equipment that is

interoperable with the ARMER system. Each

local government unit may receive only one

grant. Each grant is contingent upon a match

of at least five percent from nonstate funds.

The director of the Department of Public

Safety Emergency Communication Networks

Division, in consultation with the Statewide

Emergency Communications Board, must

administer the grant program. This

appropriation is available until June 30, 2028.

This is a onetime appropriation.

Sec. 4. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND
TRAINING (POST) BOARD $ 12,211,000 $

(a) Peace Officer Training Reimbursements

$2,949,000 each year is for reimbursements

to local governments for peace officer training

CcOSsts.

(b) Philando Castile Memorial Training

Fund

$5,500,000 each year is to support and

strengthen law enforcement training and

implement best practices. This funding shall

be named the "Philando Castile Memorial

Training Fund." These funds may only be used

to reimburse costs related to training courses

that qualify for reimbursement under

Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.8452 (use of

Article 1 Sec. 4. 8
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force), 626.8469 (training in crisis response,

conflict management, and cultural diversity),

and 626.8474 (autism training).

Each sponsor of a training course is required

to include the following in the sponsor's

application for approval submitted to the

board: course goals and objectives; a course

outline including at a minimum a timeline and

teaching hours for all courses; instructor

qualifications; and a plan for learning

assessments of the course and documenting

the assessments to the board during review.

Upon completion of each course, instructors

must submit student evaluations of the

instructor's teaching to the sponsor.

The board shall keep records of the

applications of all approved and denied

courses. All continuing education courses shall

be reviewed after the first year. The board

must set a timetable for recurring review after

the first year. For each review, the sponsor

must submit its learning assessments to the

board to show that the course is teaching the

learning outcomes that were approved by the

board.

A list of licensees who successfully complete

the course shall be maintained by the sponsor

and transmitted to the board following the

presentation of the course and the completed

student evaluations of the instructors.

Evaluations are available to chief law

enforcement officers. The board shall establish

a data retention schedule for the information

collected in this section.

Article 1 Sec. 4. 9
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Each year, if funds are available after

reimbursing all eligible requests for courses

approved by the board under this subdivision,

the board may use the funds to reimburse law

enforcement agencies for other

board-approved law enforcement training

courses. The base for this activity is

$2,051,000 in fiscal year 2028 and thereafter.

(c) Base Adjustment

The total general fund base for the Peace
Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board
shall be $8,783,000 beginning in fiscal year

2028.

Sec. 5. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD $ 691,000 $

The agency's annual general fund base shall

be $694,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Sec. 6. CORRECTIONS

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 810,385,000 $

The amounts that may be spent for each

purpose are specified in the following

subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Incarceration and Prerelease Services $ 565,460,000 $

(a) Prison Rape Elimination Act

$500,000 each year is for Prison Rape

Elimination Act (PREA) compliance.

(b) Incarceration and Prerelease Services

Base Budget

The base for incarceration and prerelease
services is $574,492,000 in fiscal year 2028
and $574,505,000 in fiscal year 2029.

Article 1 Sec. 6. 10
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Subd. 3. Community
Supervision and Postrelease
Services 188,855,000

(2) Community Supervision Funding

$143,378,000 each year is for community

supervision services. This appropriation shall

be distributed according to the community

supervision formula in Minnesota Statutes,

section 401.10.

(b) Tribal Nation Supervision

$2,750,000 each year is for Tribal Nations to

provide supervision or supportive services

pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section

401.10.

(c) Base Adjustment

This program's annual general fund base shall

be $191,866,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Subd. 4. Organizational, Regulatory, and
Administrative Services 56,070,000

(a) Public Safety Data Infrastructure

$4,097,000 each year is for technology

modernization and the development of an

information-sharing and data-technology

infrastructure. Any unspent funds from the

current biennium do not cancel and are

available in the next biennium.

(b) Base Adjustment

This program's annual general fund base shall

be $59,114,000 beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Sec. 7. OMBUDSPERSON FOR
CORRECTIONS $ 1,103,000 $

The general fund base shall be $1,111,000

beginning in fiscal year 2028.

Article 1 Sec. 7. 11
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Sec. 8. CLEMENCY REVIEW COMMISSION $§ 988,000 $

(a) Commission; Outreach

$988,000 the first year and $990,000 the

second year are for the clemency review

commission described in Minnesota Statutes,

section 638.09. Of this amount, $200,000 each

year is for grants to support outreach and

clemency application assistance.

(b) Base Adjustment

The general fund base shall be $992,000 in
fiscal year 2028 and $993,000 in fiscal year
2029.

Sec. 9. CHILDREN YOUTH AND FAMILIES $ 21,000 $

$21,000 the first year and $4,000 the second

year are for costs related to child maltreatment

reports regarding fentanyl exposure.

Sec. 10. OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION § 500,000 $

Use of Force Training

$500,000 in the first year is to provide

reimbursement grants to eligible

postsecondary schools certified to provide

programs of professional peace officer

education for providing in-service training

programs on the use of force, including deadly

force, by peace officers. Of this amount, up

to 2.5 percent is for administration and

monitoring of the program.

To be eligible for reimbursement, training

offered by a postsecondary school must:

(1) satisfy the requirements of Minnesota

Statutes, section 626.8452, and be approved

by the Board of Peace Officer Standards and

Training;

Article 1 Sec. 10. 12
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(2) utilize scenario-based training that

simulates real-world situations and involves

the use of real firearms that fire nonlethal

ammunition;

(3) include a block of instruction on the

physical and psychological effects of stress

before, during, and after a high-risk or

traumatic incident and the cumulative impact

of stress on the health of officers;

(4) include blocks of instruction on

de-escalation methods and tactics, bias

motivation, unknown risk training, defensive

tactics, and force-on-force training; and

(5) be offered to peace officers at no charge

to the peace officer or law enforcement

agency.

An eligible postsecondary school may apply

for reimbursement for the costs of offering the

training. Reimbursement shall be made at a

rate of $450 for each officer who completes

the training. The postsecondary school must

submit the name and peace officer license

number of the peace officer who received the

training to the Office of Higher Education.

As used in this section:

(1) "law enforcement agency" has the meaning

given in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84,

subdivision 1, paragraph (f); and

(2) "peace officer" has the meaning given in

Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84,

subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

Article 1 Sec. 10. 13
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Sec. 11. TRANSFER; MINNESOTA VICTIMS OF CRIME ACCOUNT.

$8,000,000 each year is transferred from the general fund to the Minnesota victims of

crime account in the special revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.708. This

1s a onetime transfer.

Sec. 12. COMMERCE; REDUCTION.

The commissioner of management and budget must reduce general fund appropriations

to the Department of Commerce by $1,115,000 in fiscal years 2026 and 2027 and must

reduce the workers' compensation fund appropriations to the Department of Commerce by

$215,000 in fiscal years 2026 and 2027 to account for the transfer of Commerce Fraud

Bureau employees and responsibilities to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. These

reductions are ongoing.

ARTICLE 2
PUBLIC SAFETY POLICY
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 152.137, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the

meanings given.

(b) "Chemical substance" means a substance intended to be used as a precursor in the
manufacture of methamphetamine or any other chemical intended to be used in the

manufacture of methamphetamine.
(¢) "Child" means any person under the age of 18 years.

(d) "Methamphetamine paraphernalia" means all equipment, products, and materials of
any kind that are used, intended for use, or designed for use in manufacturing, injecting,

ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing methamphetamine into the human body.

(e) "Methamphetamine waste products" means substances, chemicals, or items of any
kind used in the manufacture of methamphetamine or any part of the manufacturing process,

or the by-products or degradates of manufacturing methamphetamine.
(f) "Vulnerable adult" has the meaning given in section 609.232, subdivision 11.

(g) "Fentanyl" has the meaning given in section 152.01, subdivision 25.

Article 2 Section 1. 14
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 152.137, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Prohibited conduct. (a) No person may knowingly engage in any of the
following activities in the presence of a child or vulnerable adult; in the residence of a child
or a vulnerable adult; in a building, structure, conveyance, or outdoor location where a child
or vulnerable adult might reasonably be expected to be present; in a room offered to the

public for overnight accommodation; or in any multiple unit residential building:
(1) manufacturing or attempting to manufacture methamphetamine;
(2) storing any chemical substance;
(3) storing any methamphetamine waste products; or
(4) storing any methamphetamine paraphernalia.

(b) No person may knowingly cause or permit a child or vulnerable adult to inhale, be
exposed to, have contact with, or ingest methamphetamine, a chemical substance, or

methamphetamine paraphernalia.

(c) No person may knowingly cause or permit a child or vulnerable adult to inhale, be

exposed to, have contact with, or ingest fentanyl.

(d) Paragraphs (b) and (c) do not apply to manufacturers, practitioners, pharmacists,

owners of pharmacies, nurses, and other persons when the manufacturer, practitioner,

pharmacist, owner of a pharmacy, nurse, or other person is acting in a professional capacity.

Sec. 3. [241.76] OPIATE ANTAGONISTS.

(a) The commissioner must maintain a supply of opiate antagonists, as defined in section

604A.04, subdivision 1, at each correctional facility to be administered in compliance with

section 151.37, subdivision 12.

(b) The commissioner must store an ample number of doses of nasal opiate antagonists

throughout each facility so that staff can rapidly respond to opioid overdoses.

(c) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of health, shall provide

training to employees of the department on recognizing the symptoms of an opiate overdose

and how to administer nasal opiate antagonists.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.18, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this

subdivision have the meanings given them.
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(b) "Correctional fees":

(1) effective August 1, 2027 2029, means fees charged or contracted for by a probation
agency or the commissioner of corrections for court-ordered or community-provided
correctional services, including but not limited to drug testing, electronic home monitoring,

treatment, and programming; and

(2) effective August 1, 2023, through July 31, 2027 2029, include fees for the following

correctional services:
(1) community service work placement and supervision;
(i1) restitution collection;
(1i1) supervision;
(iv) court-ordered investigations;
(v) any other court-ordered service;
(vi) postprison supervision or other form of release; and

(vii) supervision or other probation-related services provided by a probation agency or
by the Department of Corrections for individuals supervised by the commissioner of

corrections.
(c) "Probation" has the meaning given in section 609.02, subdivision 15.

(d) "Probation agency" means a probation agency, including a Tribal Nation, organized

under section 244.19 or chapter 401.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.18, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Annual report. (a) By January 15 each year, the commissioner must submit
an annual report on implementing the commissioner's duties under this section to the chairs
and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees and
divisions with jurisdiction over criminal justice funding and policy. At a minimum, the
report must include information on the types of correctional services for which fees were

imposed, the aggregate amount of fees imposed, and the amount of fees collected.

(b) This subdivision expires August 1, 2027 2029.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 244.18, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

Subd. 9. Sunsetting supervision fees; sunset plan. (a) By August 1, 2025, each probation

agency must provide to the commissioner a written plan for phasing out supervision fees
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for individuals under the agency's supervision and control, and the commissioner must
review and approve the plan by August 1, 2027 2029. By August 1, 2027 2029, the
commissioner must develop a written plan for phasing out supervision fees for individuals

under the commissioner's supervision and control.

(b) A copy of an approved plan must be provided to all individuals under the supervision
and control of the agency or the commissioner and in a language and manner that each

individual can understand.

(c) Supervision fees must not be increased from August 1, 2023, through July 31, 2027
20209.

(d) This subdivision expires August 1, 2027 2029.

Sec. 7. [299A.708] MINNESOTA VICTIMS OF CRIME ACCOUNT.

Subdivision 1. Account established. The Minnesota victims of crime account is

established in the special revenue fund.

Subd. 2. Source of funds. The account consists of money deposited, donated, allotted,

transferred, or otherwise provided to the account and any interest or earnings of the account.

Subd. 3. Appropriation; account purpose; grants. Money in the account, including

interest accrued, is appropriated to the commissioner of public safety for the Office of Justice

Programs to provide grants to crime victim services providers. Grants must be used for

direct services and advocacy for victims of sexual assault, general crime, domestic violence,

and child abuse. Funding must support the direct needs of organizations serving victims of

crime and may provide: direct client assistance to crime victims; competitive wages for

direct service staff; hotel stays and other housing-related supports and services; culturally

responsive programming; prevention programming, including domestic abuse transformation

and restorative justice programming; and for other needs of organizations and crime victim

survivors. Up to ten percent of the appropriation is available for grant administration.

Subd. 4. Reporting; carryover. (a) By January 15 of each year, the commissioner of

public safety shall submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the

legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance on the account

established in subdivision 1. The report must provide detailed information on the money

deposited into the account and any money carried over from the previous year, including

the amounts and sources of the money.

(b) Money in the account does not cancel but remains available for expenditures for

grants identified in subdivision 3.
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Subd. 5. Annual transfer. In fiscal year 2028 and each year thereafter, the commissioner

of management and budget shall transfer $2,000,000 from the general fund to the Minnesota

victims of crime account.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 401.10, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Community supervision funding formula. (a) Beginning July 1, 2023,
the community supervision subsidy paid to each county, the commissioner for supervision
of non-CCA jurisdictions served by the Department of Corrections, and each applicable

Tribal Nation under paragraph (e) equals the sum of:

(1) a base funding amount equal to $150,000; and

(2) a community supervision formula equal to the sum of:

(1) for individuals with a felony sentence, the felony per diem rate of $5.62 shall be

multiplied by the average total population over the three most recent years, as reported in

the probation surveys published by the commissioner. This population includes the county

or Tribal Nation's adult felony population, adult supervised release population, adult parole

population, juvenile supervised release population, and juvenile parole population. The

resulting amount shall then be multiplied by 365 to calculate the total annual allocation;

and

(11) for individuals sentenced for a gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or under juvenile

probation, the felony per diem rate of $5.62 shall be multiplied by 0.5, and then multiplied

by the average total population over the three most recent years, as reported in the probation

surveys published by the commissioner. This population includes the county or Tribal

Nation's gross misdemeanor population, misdemeanor population, and juvenile probation
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population. The resulting amount shall then be multiplied by 365 to calculate the total annual

allocation.

(b) For a non-CCA jurisdiction under section 244.19, subdivision 1b, paragraph (b) or
(c), the base funding amount must be shared equally between the jurisdiction and the

commissioner for the provision of felony supervision under section 244.20.

(c) If in any year the total amount appropriated for the purpose of this section is more
than or less than the total of base funding plus community supervision formula funding for
all counties and applicable Tribal Nations, the sum of each county's and applicable Tribal
Nation's base funding plus community supervision formula funding is adjusted by the ratio
of amounts appropriated for this purpose divided by the total of base funding plus community

supervision formula funding for all counties and applicable Tribal Nations.

(d) If in any year the base funding plus the community supervision formula amount
based on what was appropriated in fiscal year 2024 is less than the funding paid to the
county in fiscal year 2023, the difference is added to the community supervision formula
amount for that county. A county is not eligible for additional funding under this paragraph
unless the base funding plus community supervision formula results in an increase in funding
for the county based on what was appropriated in the previous fiscal year. This paragraph

expires June 30, 2029.

(e) For each Tribal Nation, a funding amount of $250,000 is allotted annually to purchase
probation services or probation-related services, including contracted services, but a Tribal
Nation that becomes a CCA jurisdiction or a non-CCA jurisdiction under section 244.19,
subdivision 1b, paragraph (b) or (c), is an applicable Tribal Nation under paragraphs (a) to
(c) and:

(1) has the Tribal Nation's funding amount of $250,000 transferred to the total community

supervision subsidy amount appropriated for the purposes of this section; and

(2) is allotted a base funding amount equal to $150,000 plus an amount as determined

according to the community supervision formula under paragraph (a), clause (2).

(f) Minnesota Rehabilitation and Reinvestment Act savings under section 244.50,
subdivision 4, clause (2), are appropriated to each CCA jurisdiction and non-CCA jurisdiction
served by the Department of Corrections by dividing the three-year average of the number
of individuals on supervised release and intensive supervised release within the jurisdiction
by the three-year average of the total number of individuals under supervised release and
intensive supervised release statewide, using the numbers reported annually in the Probation

Survey report.
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Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall
examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the
contemplated civil marriage. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar.
If one party 1s unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent
applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage
application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the
appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be
accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be
released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local
registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including
the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license,
containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and
state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance.
The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b),
the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of $H5 $125 for administering the
oath, issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to
the state registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If
the license should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other
extenuating circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and
in that case a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license
without fee. A local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any
manner other than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount

not to exceed $1,000.

(b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of
premarital education is $40 $50. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties
must submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed,
dated, and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the
premarital education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital
education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee,
a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized
to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include
the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management

skills.
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(c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph

(b) must be in the following form:

"I, (name of educator), confirm that ......................... (names of both
parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital
inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed
or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota
Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under

Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."

The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names
of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding
section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time

it may be destroyed.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 517.08, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:

Subd. 1c. Disposition of license fee. (a) Of the civil marriage license fee collected
pursuant to subdivision 1b, paragraph (a), $25 must be retained by the county. The local
registrar must pay $90 $100 to the commissioner of management and budget to be deposited

as follows:
(1) $55 in the general fund;

(2) $3 in the state government special revenue fund to be appropriated to the

commissioner of public safety for parenting time centers under section 119A.37;

(3) $2 in the special revenue fund to be appropriated to the commissioner of health for

developing and implementing the MN ENABL program under section 145.9255;

(4) $25 in the special revenue fund is appropriated to the commissioner of employment
and economic development for the Minnesota Family Resiliency Partnership under section

116L.96; and

(5) $5 in the special revenue fund, which is appropriated to the Board of Regents of the
University of Minnesota for the Minnesota couples on the brink project under section 137.32;

and

(6) $10 in the Minnesota victims of crime account in the special revenue fund under

section 299A.708.
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(b) Of the $40 fee under subdivision 1b, paragraph (b), $25 must be retained by the
county. The local registrar must pay $+5 $25 to the commissioner of management and

budget to be deposited as follows:
(1) $5 as provided in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3); and

(2) $10 in the special revenue fund is appropriated to the commissioner of employment
and economic development for the Minnesota Family Resiliency Partnership under section

116L.96; and

(3) $10 in the Minnesota victims of crime account in the special revenue fund under

section 299A.708.

Sec. 11. [609.1015] CORPORATE OFFENDERS; PENALTY ASSESSMENT
REQUIRED.

(a) As used in this section, "corporation" means any entity, other than a natural person,

that is capable under the laws of any state to sue, be sued, own property, contract, or employ

another.

(b) When a court is sentencing a corporation that has been convicted of a crime, the

court must impose an assessment of up to $1,000,000 if the conviction is for a felony offense,

up to $250,000 if the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor offense, and up to $100,000 if

the conviction is for a misdemeanor offense. The assessment is in addition to any criminal

fines, restitution, or surcharge, otherwise authorized or required under law. The court shall

impose an assessment of not less than 30 percent of the maximum assessment authorized

by this section unless the defendant makes a showing of undue hardship. The court may not

waive payment of the assessment.

(c) In setting the amount of the assessment, the court shall take the following into

consideration:

(1) the nature and seriousness of the offense;

(2) the number of offenses committed;

(3) the persistence of the criminal conduct;

(4) the length of time over which the criminal conduct occurred;

(5) the willfulness of the corporation's criminal conduct;

(6) the corporation's assets, liabilities, and net worth; and

(7) the particular harm to victims of the crime.
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(d) Assessments collected under this section must be deposited into the Minnesota victims

of crime account under section 299A.708.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025, and applies to sentences

announced on or after that date.

Sec. 12. [609.1016] VICTIM SERVICES ASSESSMENT.

(a) When a court is sentencing a person for an offense listed in paragraph (b), the court

must impose a victim services assessment. If the violation is a misdemeanor, the assessment

must be at least $500 and not more than $750. For any other violation, the assessment must

be at least $750 and not more than $1,000.

(b) The victim services assessment applies to a conviction of the following offenses:

(1) any crime of violence as defined in section 624.712, subdivision 5, other than a

violation of chapter 152;

(2) section 518B.01, subdivision 14 (violation of domestic abuse order for protection);

(3) section 609.2242 (domestic assault);

(4) section 609.324, subdivision 1, 1a, or 2 (patronizing or hiring an individual engaged

in prostitution);

(5) section 609.3458 (sexual extortion);

(6) section 609.748, subdivision 6 (violation of harassment restraining order);

(7) section 617.261 (nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images); or

(8) section 629.75 (violation of domestic abuse no contact order).

(c) The court must waive payment of the assessment required under this subdivision on

a showing of indigency and may waive or reduce payment of the assessment on a showing

of undue hardship upon the convicted person or the convicted person's immediate family.

(d) Assessments collected under this section must be deposited into the Minnesota victims

of crime account under section 299A.708.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2025, and applies to sentences

announced on or after that date.
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Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.2232, is amended to read:

609.2232 CONSECUTIVE SENTENCES FOR ASSAULTS COMMITTED BY
STATEPRISON INMATES.

(a) If an inmate of a state correctional facility is convicted of violating section 609.221,
609.222,609.223, 609.2231, or 609.224, while confined in the facility, the sentence imposed
for the assault shall be executed and run consecutively to any unexpired portion of the
offender's earlier sentence. The inmate is not entitled to credit against the sentence imposed
for the assault for time served in confinement for the earlier sentence. The inmate shall
serve the sentence for the assault in a state correctional facility even if the assault conviction

was for a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor.

(b) If an inmate of a county jail, county regional jail, county work farm, county

workhouse, or other local correctional facility is convicted of violating section 609.221,

609.222, 609.223, or 609.2231 while confined in the facility and the victim is a county

sheriff or sheriff's deputy, the court must not stay adjudication or imposition of the sentence

and the inmate must be sentenced as follows:

(1) if the inmate was serving an executed sentence at the time of the assault, the sentence

imposed for the assault shall be executed and run consecutively to that sentence;

(2) if the court imposes an executed sentence for any crime or offense for which the

person was in custody when the person committed the assault, the sentence imposed for the

assault shall be executed and run consecutively to that sentence; and

(3) if the inmate was serving a probationary sentence or the court imposes a stayed

sentence for any crime or offense for which the person was in custody when the person

committed the assault, the sentence imposed for the assault shall be executed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.322, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking
in the first degree. (a) Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron,
intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more

than 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $50,000, or both:
(1) solicits or induces an individual under the age of 18 years to practice prostitution;

(2) promotes the prostitution of an individual under the age of 18 years;

Article 2 Sec. 14. 24



25.1

25.2

253

254

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

259

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.15

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

04/05/25 08:13 am HOUSE RESEARCH BI/MC H2432DE2

(3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the
prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual under the age of 18 years;

or
(4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual under the age of 18 years.

(b) Whoever violates paragraph (a) or subdivision 1a may be sentenced to imprisonment
for not more than 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $60,000, or both, if one

or more of the following aggravating factors are present:
(1) the offender has committed a prior qualified human trafficking-related offense;

(2) the offense involved a sex trafficking victim who suffered bodily harm during the

commission of the offense;

(3) the time period that a sex trafficking victim was held in debt bondage or forced or

coerced labor or services exceeded 180 days; or
(4) the offense involved more than one sex trafficking victim.

(c) Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law or the

Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall

presume that an executed sentence of 120 months must be imposed on an offender convicted

of violating this section under the conditions described in paragraph (a), and an executed

sentence of 144 months must be imposed on an offender convicted of violating this section

under the conditions described in paragraph (b). Sentencing a person in a manner other than

that described in this paragraph is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 626.8516, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Forms. The commissioner must prepare the necessary grant application forms
and make the forms available on the agency's public website no later than December 31,

2023 2026.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2023.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 626.8516, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Intensive education and skills training program. No later than December
31, 2023 2026, the commissioner, in consultation with the executive director of the board

and the institutions designated as education providers under subdivision 6, shall develop
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an intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training curriculum that
will provide eligible peace officer candidates with the law enforcement education and skills
training needed to be licensed as a peace officer. The curriculum must be designed to be
completed in eight months or less and shall be offered at the institutions designated under
subdivision 6. The curriculum may overlap, coincide with, or draw upon existing law
enforcement education and training programs at institutions designated as education providers
under subdivision 6. The executive director of the board may designate existing law
enforcement education and training programs that are designed to be completed in eight
months or less as intensive comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training

programs for the purposes of this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2023.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 626.8516, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Education providers; sites. (a) No later than October 1, 2023 2026, the Board
of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities shall designate at least two
regionally diverse system campuses to provide the required intensive comprehensive law

enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer candidates.

(b) In addition to the campuses designated under paragraph (a), the commissioner may
designate private;nenproefit postsecondary institutions to provide the required intensive
comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer

candidates.

(c) Effective July 1, 2025, the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota may
request that the commissioner designate one or more campuses to provide intensive
comprehensive law enforcement education and skills training to eligible peace officer
candidates. Upon such a request, the commissioner may designate at least one of the requested

campuses.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2023.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 628.26, is amended to read:

628.26 LIMITATIONS.

(a) Indictments or complaints for any crime resulting in the death of the victim may be

found or made at any time after the death of the person killed.

(b) Indictments or complaints for a violation of section 609.25 may be found or made

at any time after the commission of the offense.
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(c¢) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 may be found or made at
any time after the commission of the offense if the victim was under the age of 18 at the

time of the offense.

(d) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 where the victim was 18
years of age or older at the time of the offense, or 609.42, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2),
shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission

of the offense.

(e) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.322, 609.342 to 609.345, and

609.3458 may be found or made at any time after the commission of the offense.

(f) Indictments or complaints for a violation of section 609.561 shall be found or made

and filed in the proper court within ten years after the commission of the offense.

D (g) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.466 and 609.52, subdivision
2, paragraph (a), clause (3), item (iii), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court

within six years after the commission of the offense.

tg) (h) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.2335, 609.52, subdivision
2, paragraph (a), clause (3), items (i) and (ii), (4), (15), or (16), 609.631, or 609.821, where
the value of the property or services stolen is more than $35,000, or for violation of section
609.527 where the offense involves eight or more direct victims or the total combined loss
to the direct and indirect victims is more than $35,000, shall be found or made and filed in

the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.

th) (1) Except for violations relating to false material statements, representations or
omissions, indictments or complaints for violations of section 609.671 shall be found or

made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense.

(1) (j) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609-561te 609.562 and 609.563,
shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission

of the offense.

) (k) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.746 shall be found or made
and filed in the proper court within the later of three years after the commission of the

offense or three years after the offense was reported to law enforcement authorities.

o (1) In all other cases, indictments or complaints shall be found or made and filed in

the proper court within three years after the commission of the offense.

H (m) The limitations periods contained in this section shall exclude any period of time

during which the defendant was not an inhabitant of or usually resident within this state.
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{m) (n) The limitations periods contained in this section for an offense shall not include
any period during which the alleged offender participated under a written agreement in a

pretrial diversion program relating to that offense.

{n) (o) The limitations periods contained in this section shall not include any period of
time during which physical evidence relating to the offense was undergoing DNA analysis,
as defined in section 299C.155, unless the defendant demonstrates that the prosecuting or
law enforcement agency purposefully delayed the DNA analysis process in order to gain

an unfair advantage.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date and to crimes committed before that date if the limitations

period for the crime did not expire before August 1, 2025.

Sec. 19. BRADY-GIGLIO ADVISORY PANEL.

Subdivision 1. Advisory panel membership. (a) The following are requested to convene

for regular meetings to provide advice and make recommendations for potential legislation

related to the disclosure of certain evidence and use of Brady-Giglio lists:

(1) a representative from the Office of the Attorney General;

(2) a representative from the Department of Public Safety;

(3) a representative from the Data Practices Office;

(4) a representative from the State Patrol;

(5) a current or retired district court judge;

(6) two representatives from the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;

(7) a representative from the Minnesota Association of City Attorneys;

(8) two individuals who are public defenders;

(9) a representative from the Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense Attorneys;

(10) a representative from the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;

(11) a representative from the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association; and

(12) a representative from the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association.

(b) The advisory panel may invite the participation of other individuals whose position

or experience will assist in the work of the panel.
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(c) Members of the advisory panel must serve without compensation or reimbursement

for any expenses.

(d) The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 15, governing advisory task forces,

councils, or committees, including but not limited to Minnesota Statutes, sections 15.014

and 15.059, do not apply to this advisory panel.

Subd. 2. Meetings; organization. (a) The advisory panel is encouraged to meet monthly

or sufficiently enough to complete the work it is requested to perform.

(b) Meetings of the advisory panel are not subject to chapter 13D.

(c) The advisory panel may appoint a chair or other officers as it chooses.

Subd. 3. Requested work. The advisory panel is encouraged to:

(1) review practices in Minnesota regarding disclosure of evidence that may be used to

impeach peace officers and other witnesses for the government including but not limited to

the use of lists or databases referred to as Brady-Giglio lists;

(2) recommend appropriate standards and identify issues that should be considered by

any jurisdiction establishing a procedure or policy related to collecting, retaining, disclosing,

and sharing evidence that may be used to impeach peace officers and other witnesses for

the government;

(3) assess the feasibility of a statewide system or centralized process for investigating

and assessing specific conduct and regulating Brady-Giglio lists or designations;

(4) recommend appropriate procedures, due process protections, appeal rights, and

criteria for the placement or removal of a peace officer or other witness on or from a

Brady-Giglio list or designation; and

(5) make relevant recommendations in addition to those identified under this subdivision.

Subd. 4. Requested report. The advisory panel is encouraged to submit a report to the

legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public safety on its

recommendations and proposals. The advisory panel is encouraged to submit the report by

February 15, 2026.
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ARTICLE 3
FINANCIAL CRIMES AND FRAUD INVESTIGATIONS

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 13.82, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Application. This section shall apply to agencies which carry on a law
enforcement function, including but not limited to municipal police departments, county
sheriff departments, fire departments, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, the Minnesota
State Patrol, the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training, the- Department-ef
Cemmeree; and county human service agency client and provider fraud investigation,

prevention, and control units operated or supervised by the Department of Human Services.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 43A.17, subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Subd. 13. Compensation for law enforcement officers. (a) For purposes of this
subdivision, the term "law enforcement officers" means all licensed peace officers employed
by the state who are included in the state units under section 179A.10, subdivision 2,
including without limitation: Minnesota State Patrol troopers, Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension agents, including Financial Crimes and Fraud Section agents, and Alcohol

and Gambling Enforcement agents, in the Department of Public Safety; Department of

Natural Resources conservation officers; and Department of Corrections Fugitive

Apprehension Unit members;

Commerece.

(b) When the commissioner of management and budget negotiates a collective bargaining
agreement establishing compensation for law enforcement officers, the commissioner must
use compensation and benefit data from the most recent salary and benefits survey conducted
pursuant to section 299D.03, subdivision 2a, to compare salaries to ensure appropriate

increases are made to law enforcement officer salaries and benefits.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 45.0135, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:

Subd. 2b. Duties. The commissioner of commerce Fraud-Bureau-shall may:

(1) review notices and reports within-the-Commeree Fraud Bureaw's primaryjurisdiction

submitted by authorized insurers, their employees, and agents or producers regarding

insurance fraud, as defined in section 60A.951, subdivision 4;
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3) (2) initiate inquiries and conduct investigations under section 45.027 when the bureau
commissioner has reason to believe that an-offense-within-the-Commeree Fraud Bureau's
primaryjurisdietion insurance fraud, as defined in section 60A.951, subdivision 4, has been

or is being committed; and

(3) share active investigative data pursuant to section 13.39 concerning insurance fraud

with the commissioner of public safety and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 45.0135, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 2g. Criminal insurance fraud investigations. (a) The Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension shall conduct investigations of criminal insurance fraud, as defined in section

609.611, in accordance with section 299C.061.

(b) The commissioner shall report criminal insurance fraud-related crimes disclosed by

the Department of Commerce's investigations of civil insurance fraud to the Bureau of

Criminal Apprehension.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 45.0135, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Insurance fraud prevention account. The insurance fraud prevention account
is created in the state treasury. Money received from assessments under subdiviston7 section

299C.061, subdivision 10, and transferred from the automobile theft prevention account in

sections 65B.84, subdivision 1, and 2971.11, subdivision 2, is deposited in the account.
Money in this fund is appropriated to the commissioner of eemmeree public safety for the

purposes specified in this section and sections 60A.951 to 60A.956.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 45.0135, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Assessment. Each insurer authorized to sell insurance in the state of Minnesota,
including surplus lines carriers, and having Minnesota earned premium the previous calendar

year shall remit an assessment to the commissioner of public safety for deposit in the

insurance fraud prevention account on or before June 1 of each year. The amount of the

assessment shall be based on the insurer's total assets and on the insurer's total written
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Minnesota premium, for the preceding fiscal year, as reported pursuant to section 60A.13.

The commissioner of public safety shall consult with the commissioner of commerce for

purposes of calculating the assessment amount. Beginning with the payment due on or

before June 1, 2024, the assessment amount is:

Total Assets Assessment

Less than $100,000,000 $ 400
$100,000,000 to $1,000,000,000 $ 1,500
Over $1,000,000,000 $ 4,000
Minnesota Written Premium Assessment

Less than $10,000,000 $ 400
$10,000,000 to $100,000,000 $ 1,500
Over $100,000,000 $ 4,000

For purposes of this subdivision, the following entities are not considered to be insurers
authorized to sell insurance in the state of Minnesota: risk retention groups; or township

mutuals organized under chapter 67A.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 45.0135, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Investigations; health-related boards. (a) The Cemmeree Fraud Burean

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension may consult with the appropriate health-related board

when a licensee, licensed under chapter 144E, 147, 148, 148B, or 150A, is suspected of

insurance fraud.

(b) The bureau shall, for any conviction involving or related to insurance, send copies

of all public data in its possession to the appropriate health-related licensing board.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 45.0135, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
Subd. 9. Administrative penalty for insurance fraud. (a) The commissioner may:

(1) impose an administrative penalty against any person in an amount as set forth in
paragraph (b) for each intentional act of insurance fraud or substantiated acts of attempted

insurance fraud, as defined in section 60A.951, subdivision 4, committed by that person;
(2) order restitution to any person suffering loss as a result of the insurance fraud; and

(3) order restitution to a company for the reasonable documented cost of any investigation

in connection with the insurance fraud.

(b) The administrative penalty for each violation described in paragraph (a) may be no

more than:
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(1) $20,000 if the funds or the value of the property or services wrongfully obtained
exceeds $5,000;

(2) $10,000 if the funds or value of the property or services wrongfully obtained exceeds
$1,000, but not more than $5,000;

(3) $3,000 if the funds or value of the property or services wrongfully obtained is more
than $500, but not more than $1,000; and

(4) $1,000 if the funds or value of the property or services wrongfully obtained is $500

or less.

(c) If an administrative penalty is not paid after all rights of appeal have been waived
or exhausted, the commissioner may bring a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction
to collect the administrative penalty, including expenses and litigation costs, reasonable

attorney fees, and interest.

(d) This section does not affect a person's right to seek recovery, including expenses
and litigation costs, reasonable attorney fees, and interest, against any person that commits

insurance fraud.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "insurance fraud" has the meaning given in section

60A.951, subdivision 4.

(f) Hearings under this subdivision must be conducted in accordance with chapter 14

and any other applicable law.

(g) All revenues from penalties, expenses, costs, fees, and interest collected under
paragraphs (a) to (c) shall be deposited ir into the insurance fraud prevention account under

subdiviston6 section 299C.061, subdivision 9.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 60A.951, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Authorized person. "Authorized person" means the county attorney, sheriff,
or chief of police responsible for investigations in the county where the suspected insurance
fraud occurred; the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; the commissioner
of commerce; the-CommereeFrand Bureaw; the commissioner of labor and industry; the
attorney general; or any duly constituted criminal investigative department or agency of the

United States.
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Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 60A.952, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Notice to and cooperation with the Commeree Fraud Bureau Bureau of

Criminal Apprehension. Any insurer or insurance professional that has reasonable belief

that an act of insurance fraud will be, is being, or has been committed, shall furnish and

disclose all relevant information to the CommerceFraudBureag Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension or to any authorized person and cooperate fully with any investigation

conducted by the Commeree FraudBureaw Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Any person

that has a reasonable belief that an act of insurance fraud will be, is being, or has been
committed, or any person who collects, reviews, or analyzes information concerning
insurance fraud may furnish and disclose any information in its possession concerning the

act to the CemmereeFraud Burean Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, any authorized

person, or to an authorized representative of an insurer that requests the information for the
purpose of detecting, prosecuting, or preventing insurance fraud. The insurer may also
release relevant information to any person authorized to receive the information under
section 72A.502, subdivision 2. If disclosure is made to an authorized person other than the
CemmereeFraud Bureat Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, a copy of the disclosure must
be sent to the CommereeFraud Bureau Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 60A.952, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Tolling of time periods. If an insurer has a reasonable or probable cause to
believe that an insurance fraud has been committed in connection with an insurance claim,

and has properly notified the Commeree FraudBureau Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

of'its suspicions according to subdivision 2, the notification tolls any applicable time period
in any unfair claims practices statute or related regulations, or any action on the claim against

the insurer to whom the claim had been presented for bad faith, until 30 days after

determination by the Cemmeree Fraud Bureat Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and notice

to the insurer that the diviston Bureau of Criminal Apprehension will not recommend action

on the claim.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 60A.952, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Reward for information. The Commerce EraudBurean Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension, in cooperation with authorized insurers and insurance professionals, may

establish a voluntary fund to reward persons not connected with the insurance industry who
provide information or furnish evidence leading to the arrest and conviction of persons

responsible for insurance fraud.
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Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 60A.954, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Review. The commissioner may review each insurer's antifraud plan to determine
whether it complies with the requirements of this section. If the commissioner finds that an
insurer's antifraud plan does not comply with the requirements of this section, the
commissioner shall disapprove the plan and send a notice of disapproval, along with the
reasons for disapproval, to the insurer. An insurer whose antifraud plan has been disapproved
by the commissioner shall submit a new plan to the commissioner within 60 days after the
plan was disapproved. The commissioner may examine an insurer's procedures to determine
whether the insurer is complying with its antifraud plan. The commissioner shall withhold
from public inspection any part of an insurer's antifraud plan for so long as the commissioner

deems the withholding to be in the public interest. The commissioner may share an insurer's

complete antifraud plan with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 60A.956, i1s amended to read:

60A.956 OTHER LAW ENFORCEMENT AUTHORITY.

Nothing in sections 60A.951 to 60A.956 preempts the authority of or relieves the duty
of any other law enforcement agencies to investigate and prosecute alleged violations of
law, prevents or prohibits a person from voluntarily disclosing any information concerning

insurance fraud to any law enforcement agency other than the Commerece Fraud Burean

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, or limits any of the powers granted elsewhere by the

laws of this state to the commissioner of commerce to investigate alleged violations of law

and to take appropriate action.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 65B.84, is amended to read:

65B.84 AUTOMOBILE THEFT PREVENTION PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Program described; commissioner's duties; appropriation. (a) The

commissioner of eemmeree public safety shall:

(1) develop and sponsor the implementation of statewide plans, programs, and strategies
to combat automobile theft, improve the administration of the automobile theft laws, and
provide a forum for identification of critical problems for those persons dealing with

automobile theft;

(2) coordinate the development, adoption, and implementation of plans, programs, and
strategies relating to interagency and intergovernmental cooperation with respect to

automobile theft enforcement;

Article 3 Sec. 15. 35



36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

36.29

04/05/25 08:13 am HOUSE RESEARCH BI/MC H2432DE2

(3) annually audit the plans and programs that have been funded in whole or in part to
evaluate the effectiveness of the plans and programs and withdraw funding should the
commissioner determine that a plan or program is ineffective or is no longer in need of

further financial support from the fund;
(4) develop a plan of operation including:

(1) an assessment of the scope of the problem of automobile theft, including areas of the

state where the problem is greatest;
(11) an analysis of various methods of combating the problem of automobile theft;
(ii1) a plan for providing financial support to combat automobile theft;
(iv) a plan for eliminating car hijacking; and
(v) an estimate of the funds required to implement the plan; and

(5) distribute money, in consultation with the commissioner of publie-safety commerce,
pursuant to subdivision 3 from the automobile theft prevention special revenue account for

automobile theft prevention activities, including:
(1) paying the administrative costs of the program,;

(i1) providing financial support to the State Patrol and local law enforcement agencies

for automobile theft enforcement teams;

(i11) providing financial support to state or local law enforcement agencies for programs
designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and for improved equipment and

techniques for responding to automobile thefts;

(iv) providing financial support to local prosecutors for programs designed to reduce

the incidence of automobile theft;

(v) providing financial support to judicial agencies for programs designed to reduce the

incidence of automobile theft;

(vi) providing financial support for neighborhood or community organizations or business
organizations for programs designed to reduce the incidence of automobile theft and to
educate people about the common methods of automobile theft, the models of automobiles
most likely to be stolen, and the times and places automobile theft is most likely to occur;

and

Article 3 Sec. 15. 36



37.1

37.2

373

37.4

37.5

37.6

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.11

37.12

37.13

37.14

37.15

37.16

37.17

37.18

37.19

37.20

37.21

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

37.29

37.30

37.31

37.32

04/05/25 08:13 am HOUSE RESEARCH BI/MC H2432DE2

(vii) providing financial support for automobile theft educational and training programs
for state and local law enforcement officials, driver and vehicle services exam and inspections

staff, and members of the judiciary.

(b) The commissioner may not spend in any fiscal year more than ten percent of the
money in the fund for the program's administrative and operating costs. The commissioner
is annually appropriated and must distribute the amount of the proceeds credited to the
automobile theft prevention special revenue account each year, less the transfer of $1,300,000
each year to the insurance fraud prevention account described in section 2971.11, subdivision

2.

(c) At the end of each fiscal year, the commissioner may transfer any unobligated balances
in the auto theft prevention account to the insurance fraud prevention account under section

45-0135,subdtviston-6 299C.061, subdivision 9.

(d) The commissioner must establish a library of equipment to combat automobile-related
theft offenses. The equipment must be available to all law enforcement agencies upon

request to support law enforcement agency efforts to combat automobile theft.

Subd. 2. Annual report. By September 30 each year, the commissioner of public safety

shall report to the governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of
representatives and senate committees having jurisdiction over the Departments Department
of Cemmeree-and Public Safety on the activities and expenditures in the preceding year.

Subd. 3. Grant criteria; application. (a) A county attorney's office, law enforcement
agency, neighborhood organization, community organization, or business organization may
apply for a grant under this section. Multiple offices or agencies within a county may apply

for a grant under this section.

(b) The commissioner of public safety, in consultation with the commissioner of publie

safety commerce, must develop criteria for the fair distribution of grants from the automobile

theft prevention account that address the following factors:

(1) the number of reported automobile thefts per capita in a city, county, or region, not

merely the total number of automobile thefts;
(2) the population of the jurisdiction of the applicant office or agency;
(3) the total funds distributed within a county or region; and
(4) the statewide interest in automobile theft reduction.

(c) The commissioner may give priority to:
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(1) offices and agencies engaged in a collaborative effort to reduce automobile theft;

and
(2) counties or regions with the greatest rates of automobile theft.

(d) The minimum amount of a grant award is $5,000. After considering the automobile
theft rate and total population of an applicant's jurisdiction, if a grant award, as determined
under the criteria and priorities in this subdivision, would be less than $5,000, it must not

be awarded.

Subd. 4. Advisory board; creation; membership. An Automobile Theft Prevention
Advisory Board is established to advise the commissioner on the distribution of grants under
this section. The board must consist of seven members appointed by the commissioner of
public safety and must include representatives of law enforcement, prosecuting agencies,
automobile insurers, and the public. The commissioner must annually select a chair from

among its members.

Subd. 5. Definition. For purposes of this section, "automobile theft" includes

automobile-related theft.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 268.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Use of data. (a) Except as provided by this section, data gathered from
any person under the administration of the Minnesota Unemployment Insurance Law are
private data on individuals or nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02,
subdivisions 9 and 12, and may not be disclosed except according to a district court order
or section 13.05. A subpoena is not considered a district court order. These data may be
disseminated to and used by the following agencies without the consent of the subject of

the data:

(1) state and federal agencies specifically authorized access to the data by state or federal

law;

(2) any agency of any other state or any federal agency charged with the administration

of an unemployment insurance program;

(3) any agency responsible for the maintenance of a system of public employment offices

for the purpose of assisting individuals in obtaining employment;

(4) the public authority responsible for child support in Minnesota or any other state in

accordance with section 518A.83;

(5) human rights agencies within Minnesota that have enforcement powers;
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(6) the Department of Revenue to the extent necessary for its duties under Minnesota
laws;

(7) public and private agencies responsible for administering publicly financed assistance

programs for the purpose of monitoring the eligibility of the program's recipients;

(8) the Department of Labor and Industry and-the-Commeree-Fraud-Bureauin, the

Department of Commerce, and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for uses consistent

with the administration of their duties under Minnesota law;

(9) the Department of Human Services and the Office of Inspector General and its agents
within the Department of Human Services, including county fraud investigators, for
investigations related to recipient or provider fraud and employees of providers when the

provider is suspected of committing public assistance fraud,

(10) the Department of Human Services for the purpose of evaluating medical assistance

services and supporting program improvement;

(11) local and state welfare agencies for monitoring the eligibility of the data subject
for assistance programs, or for any employment or training program administered by those
agencies, whether alone, in combination with another welfare agency, or in conjunction
with the department or to monitor and evaluate the statewide Minnesota family investment
program and other cash assistance programs, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program,
and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment and Training program by
providing data on recipients and former recipients of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program (SNAP) benefits, cash assistance under chapter 256, 256D, 256J, or 256K, child
care assistance under chapter 142E, or medical programs under chapter 256B or 256L or

formerly codified under chapter 256D;

(12) local and state welfare agencies for the purpose of identifying employment, wages,
and other information to assist in the collection of an overpayment debt in an assistance

program;

(13) local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies for the purpose of ascertaining
the last known address and employment location of an individual who is the subject of a

criminal investigation;

(14) the United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement has access to data on
specific individuals and specific employers provided the specific individual or specific

employer is the subject of an investigation by that agency;

(15) the Department of Health for the purposes of epidemiologic investigations;
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(16) the Department of Corrections for the purposes of case planning and internal research
for preprobation, probation, and postprobation employment tracking of offenders sentenced
to probation and preconfinement and postconfinement employment tracking of committed

offenders;

(17) the state auditor to the extent necessary to conduct audits of job opportunity building

zones as required under section 469.3201;

(18) the Office of Higher Education for purposes of supporting program improvement,
system evaluation, and research initiatives including the Statewide Longitudinal Education

Data System; and

(19) the Family and Medical Benefits Division of the Department of Employment and

Economic Development to be used as necessary to administer chapter 268B.

(b) Data on individuals and employers that are collected, maintained, or used by the
department in an investigation under section 268.182 are confidential as to data on individuals
and protected nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 3
and 13, and must not be disclosed except under statute or district court order or to a party

named in a criminal proceeding, administrative or judicial, for preparation of a defense.

(c) Data gathered by the department in the administration of the Minnesota unemployment
insurance program must not be made the subject or the basis for any suit in any civil

proceedings, administrative or judicial, unless the action is initiated by the department.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 268B.30, is amended to read:

268B.30 DATA PRIVACY.

(a) Except as provided by this section, data collected, created, or maintained under this
chapter are private data on individuals or nonpublic data not on individuals as defined in
section 13.02, subdivisions 9 and 12, and must not be disclosed except according to a district

court order or section 13.05. A subpoena is not considered a district court order.

(b) Data classified under paragraph (a) may be disseminated to and used by the following

without the consent of the subject of the data:

(1) state and federal agencies specifically authorized access to the data by state or federal

law;

(2) the unemployment insurance division, to the extent necessary to administer the

programs established under this chapter and chapter 268;
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(3) employers, to the extent necessary to support adjudication of application requests
and to support the employer's administration of a leave of absence;

(4) health care providers, to the extent necessary to support verification of health care

conditions and qualifying events;

(5) the public authority responsible for child support in Minnesota or any other state in

accordance with section 518A.83;
(6) human rights agencies within Minnesota that have enforcement powers;

(7) the Department of Revenue, to the extent necessary for its duties under Minnesota

laws;

(8) public and private agencies responsible for administering publicly financed assistance

programs for the purpose of monitoring the eligibility of the program's recipients;

(9) the Department of Labor and Industry and-the-Commerce-Fraud-Bureauin, the

Department of Commerce, and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for uses consistent

with the administration of their duties under Minnesota law;

(10) the Department of Human Services and the Office of Inspector General and its
agents within the Department of Human Services, including county fraud investigators, for
investigations related to recipient or provider fraud and employees of providers when the

provider is suspected of committing public assistance fraud,
(11) the Department of Public Safety for support in identity verification;

(12) local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies for the purpose of ascertaining
the last known address and employment location of an individual who is the subject of a

criminal investigation;
(13) the Department of Health for the purposes of epidemiologic investigations;

(14) the Department of Corrections for the purposes of tracking incarceration of

applicants; and

(15) contracted third parties, to the extent necessary to aid in identity verification,

adjudication, administration, and evaluation of the program.

(c) Data on individuals and employers that are collected, maintained, or used by the
department in an investigation under section 268B.19, 268B.21, 268B.22, or 268B.23 are
confidential as to data on individuals and protected nonpublic data not on individuals as

defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 3 and 13, and must not be disclosed except under
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statute or district court order or to a party named in a criminal proceeding, administrative

or judicial, for preparation of a defense.

(d) Data gathered by the department in the administration of this chapter must not be
made the subject or the basis for any suit in any civil proceedings, administrative or judicial,

unless the action is initiated by the department.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 2971.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Automobile theft prevention account. A special revenue account in the state
treasury shall be credited with the proceeds of the surcharge imposed under subdivision 1.

Of the revenue in the account, $1,300,000 each year must be transferred to the insurance

fraud prevention account under section 45-:0H35;subdivisten-6 299C.061, subdivision 9.

Revenues in excess of $1,300,000 each year may be used only for the automobile theft

prevention program described in section 65B.84.

Sec. 19. [299C.061] FINANCIAL CRIMES AND FRAUD SECTION.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have

the meanings given.

(b) "Fraud involving state funded or administered programs or services" includes any

violation of section 609.445, 609.465, 609.466, 609.52, 609.5523, 609.611, 609.651,

609.7475, or 609.821 involving a state agency or state funded or administered program or

service.

(c) "Peace officer" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph

(©).

(d) "State agency" has the meaning given in section 13.02, subdivision 17.

(e) "Superintendent" means the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

(f) "Section" means the Financial Crimes and Fraud Section of the Bureau of Criminal

Apprehension.

Subd. 2. Financial Crimes and Fraud Section. The superintendent shall operate the

Financial Crimes and Fraud Section within the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension to conduct

investigations into insurance fraud, financial crimes, wage theft, and fraud involving state

funded or administered programs or services. The Section shall be partially or fully comprised

of licensed peace officers. Members of this section have the full authorities specified in

chapter 299C and are not limited to the duties enumerated in this section.
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Subd. 3. Duties. The Financial Crimes and Fraud Section shall:

(1) review notices and reports of insurance fraud and related crimes submitted by

authorized insurers, their employees, and agents or producers pursuant to sections 60A.951

to 60A.956;

(2) initiate inquiries and conduct investigations when the Section has reason to believe

that any of the following offenses have been or are being committed:

(1) fraud involving state funded or administered programs or services in subdivision 1,

paragraph (b);

(i1) insurance fraud and related crimes, as defined in sections 60A.951, subdivision 4,

and 609.611 and support of those activities;

(ii1) wage theft and related crimes; and

(iv) any other financial crimes; and

(3) operate the automobile theft prevention program under section 65B.84.

Subd. 4. Mandatory referral; duty to investigate. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs

(b) and (d), a state agency shall refer all suspected fraudulent activity under the provisions

in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), equaling $100,000 or more, to the Section for evaluation

and investigation or appropriate referral. Upon receipt of the referral, the Section shall

review and, where appropriate, conduct criminal investigations into the allegations. The

Section has sole discretion as to which allegations are investigated further, referred back to

the reporting agency for appropriate regulatory investigation, or referred to another law

enforcement agency with appropriate jurisdiction.

(b) When acting in a civil or criminal law enforcement capacity and permitted by

applicable law or order, the attorney general may, in the attorney general's discretion, refer

suspected fraudulent activity under the provisions in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), to the

Section for evaluation and investigation or appropriate referral in accordance with paragraph

().

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), this section has no effect on the authority of the

attorney general to investigate and enforce violations or suspected violations of Minnesota

civil or criminal law.

(d) Referral to the Section under this subdivision is not required when a state agency is

required to refer the fraudulent activity to the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit in
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accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455.21(A)(1)(a), and section

256B.04, subdivision 10.

Subd. 5. Discretionary referral. (a) A state agency may refer suspected fraud involving

state funded or administered programs or services equaling less than $100,000 to the Section

for investigation. Upon referral, the Section shall:

(1) accept the referral and, where appropriate, conduct criminal investigations into the

allegations and make appropriate referrals for criminal prosecution; or

(2) redirect the referral to another appropriate law enforcement agency or civil

investigative authority, offering assistance where appropriate.

Subd. 6. Data-sharing authorized. Notwithstanding chapter 13 or any other statute

related to the classification of government data to the contrary, state agencies making a

referral under subdivision 3 or 4 shall provide data related to the suspected fraudulent activity

to the Section, including data classified as not public. The Section may share active criminal

investigative data concerning insurance fraud with the Department of Commerce.

Subd. 7. State agency reporting. By January 15 of each year, each state agency must

report all suspected fraud incurred by the agency that involves state funded or administered

programs or services equaling $10,000 or more to the Section to be summarized in the report

under subdivision 8. This subdivision does not apply to information obtained by the attorney

general when acting in a civil or criminal law enforcement capacity.

Subd. 8. Annual report. (a) By February 1 of each year, the superintendent shall report

to the commissioner, the governor, and the chairs and ranking minority members of the

legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety policy and finance, and commerce

consumer protection policy and finance, the following information pertaining to the Section

since the previous report:

(1) the number of investigations initiated;

(2) the number of allegations investigated,

(3) the outcomes or current status of each investigation;

(4) the charging decisions made by the prosecuting authority of incidents investigated

by the Section;

(5) the number of plea agreements reached in incidents investigated by the Section;

(6) the number of reports received under subdivision 7,
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(7) the number of state agency referrals to the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit reported

to the superintendent under paragraph (b); and

(8) any other information relevant to the Section's responsibilities.

(b) No later than January 15 of each odd-numbered year, each state agency that is required

to make referrals to the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit in accordance with Code of

Federal Regulations, title 42, section 455.21(A)(1)(a), and section 256B.04, subdivision 10,

shall report the following information to the superintendent for the two previous calendar

years:

(1) the number of cases referred to the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit;

(2) the number of referrals accepted by the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit; and

(3) the number of referrals declined by the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit.

Subd. 9. Funding allocation. One hundred percent of the funding allocated to the Bureau

of Criminal Apprehension for the assessment in subdivision 10 may only be used for the

investigation of insurance fraud and related crimes, as defined in sections 60A.951,

subdivision 4, and 609.611, and support of those activities.

EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) Subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 6, and 9 are effective July 1, 2025.

(b) Subdivisions 4, 5, 7, and 8 are effective January 1, 2026.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 299C.40, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section.

(b) "CIBRS" means the Comprehensive Incident-Based Reporting System, located in
the Department of Public Safety and managed by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. A

reference in this section to "CIBRS" includes the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

(c) "Law enforcement agency" means a Minnesota municipal police department, the
Metropolitan Transit Police, the Metropolitan Airports Police, the University of Minnesota
Police Department, the Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit, a Minnesota
county sheriff's department, the Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural
Resources, the-CemmereeFraud Bureaw; the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, or the

Minnesota State Patrol.
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Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 609.531, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purpose of sections 609.531 to 609.5318, the

following terms have the meanings given them.

(a) "Conveyance device" means a device used for transportation and includes, but is not
limited to, a motor vehicle, trailer, snowmobile, airplane, and vessel and any equipment
attached to it. The term "conveyance device" does not include property which is, in fact,

itself stolen or taken in violation of the law.

(b) "Weapon used" means a dangerous weapon as defined under section 609.02,

subdivision 6, that the actor used or had in possession in furtherance of a crime.
(c) "Property" means property as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause (1).
(d) "Contraband" means property which is illegal to possess under Minnesota law.

(e) "Appropriate agency" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, the Department
of Commeree Fraud Bureaw; the Minnesota Division of Driver and Vehicle Services, the
Minnesota State Patrol, a county sheriff's department, the Three Rivers Park District
Department of Public Safety, the Department of Natural Resources Division of Enforcement,
the University of Minnesota Police Department, the Department of Corrections Fugitive
Apprehension Unit, a city, metropolitan transit, or airport police department; or a

multijurisdictional entity established under section 299A.642 or 299A.681.
(f) "Designated offense" includes:
(1) for weapons used: any violation of this chapter, chapter 152 or 624;

(2) for driver's license or identification card transactions: any violation of section 171.22;

and

(3) for all other purposes: a felony violation of, or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy
to violate, section 325E.17; 325E.18; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.2112; 609.2113;
609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.2335; 609.24; 609.245; 609.247;
609.25; 609.255; 609.282; 609.283; 609.322; 609.342, subdivision 1, or subdivision la,
clauses (a) to (f) and (i); 609.343, subdivision 1, or subdivision la, clauses (a) to (f) and (i);
609.344, subdivision 1, or subdivision 1a, clauses (a) to (e), (h), or (i); 609.345, subdivision
1, or subdivision la, clauses (a) to (e), (h), and (1); 609.352; 609.42; 609.425; 609.466;
609.485; 609.487; 609.52; 609.525; 609.527; 609.528; 609.53; 609.54; 609.551; 609.561;
609.562; 609.563; 609.582; 609.59; 609.595; 609.611; 609.631; 609.66, subdivision le;
609.671, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 8, and 12; 609.687; 609.821; 609.825; 609.86; 609.88; 609.89;
609.893; 609.895; 617.246; 617.247; or a gross misdemeanor or felony violation of section
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609.891 or 624.7181; or any violation of section 609.324; or a felony violation of, or a

felony-level attempt or conspiracy to violate, Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21.
(g) "Controlled substance" has the meaning given in section 152.01, subdivision 4.

(h) "Prosecuting authority" means the attorney who is responsible for prosecuting an

offense that is the basis for a forfeiture under sections 609.531 to 609.5318.

(1) "Asserting person" means a person, other than the driver alleged to have used a vehicle
in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale,
claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or restrained under this

section.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 626.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Peace officer. The term "peace officer," as used in sections 626.04 to 626.17,
means a person who is licensed as a peace officer in accordance with section 626.84,
subdivision 1, and who serves as a sheriff, deputy sheriff, police officer, conservation officer,
agent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, agent of the Division of Alcohol and
Gambling Enforcement, peace-officer-of the-Commeree Fraud Bureauw; University of
Minnesota peace officer, Metropolitan Transit police officer, Minnesota Department of
Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit member, State Patrol trooper as authorized by
section 299D.03, or railroad peace officer as authorized by section 219.995 and United
States Code, title 49, section 28101.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 626.84, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of sections 626.84 to 626.863, the following

terms have the meanings given them:
(a) "Board" means the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training.
(b) "Director" means the executive director of the board.
(c) "Peace officer" means:

(1) an employee or an elected or appointed official of a political subdivision or law
enforcement agency who is licensed by the board, charged with the prevention and detection
of crime and the enforcement of the general criminal laws of the state and who has the full
power of arrest, and shall also include the Minnesota State Patrol, agents of the Division of
Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement, state conservation officers, Metropolitan Transit police

officers, Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit officers, Pepartment-of
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Commeree Fraud BureauUnttoffteers; the statewide coordinator of the Violent Crime
Coordinating Council, and railroad peace officers as authorized by section 219.995 and

United States Code, title 49, section 28101; and

(2) a peace officer who is employed by a law enforcement agency of a federally
recognized tribe, as defined in United States Code, title 25, section 450b(e), and who is

licensed by the board.

(d) "Part-time peace officer" means an individual licensed by the board whose services
are utilized by law enforcement agencies no more than an average of 20 hours per week,
not including time spent on call when no call to active duty is received, calculated on an
annual basis, who has either full powers of arrest or authorization to carry a firearm while
on active duty. The term shall apply even though the individual receives no compensation
for time spent on active duty, and shall apply irrespective of the title conferred upon the

individual by any law enforcement agency.

(e) "Reserve officer" means an individual whose services are utilized by a law
enforcement agency to provide supplementary assistance at special events, traffic or crowd
control, and administrative or clerical assistance, and shall include reserve deputies, special
deputies, mounted or unmounted patrols, and all other employees or volunteers performing
reserve officer functions. A reserve officer's duties do not include enforcement of the general
criminal laws of the state, and the officer does not have full powers of arrest or authorization

to carry a firearm on duty.
(f) "Law enforcement agency" means:

(1) a unit of state or local government that is authorized by law to grant full powers of
arrest and to charge a person with the duties of preventing and detecting crime and enforcing

the general criminal laws of the state;

(2) subject to the limitations in section 626.93, a law enforcement agency of a federally

recognized tribe, as defined in United States Code, title 25, section 450b(e); and
(3) subject to the limitation of section 219.995, a railroad company.

(g) "Professional peace officer education" means a postsecondary degree program, or a
nondegree program for persons who already have a college degree, that is offered by a
college or university in Minnesota, designed for persons seeking licensure as a peace officer,

and approved by the board.

(h) "Railroad peace officer" means an individual as authorized under United States Code,

title 49, section 28101:
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(1) employed by a railroad for the purpose of aiding and supplementing law enforcement
agencies in the protection of property owned by or in the care, custody, or control of a

railroad and to protect the persons and property of railroad passengers and employees; and

(2) licensed by the board.

Sec. 24. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall renumber the subdivisions in column A with the number

listed in column B. The revisor shall also make necessary cross-reference changes in

Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules consistent with the renumbering.

Column A Column B

section 45.0135, subdivision 6 section 299C.061, subdivision 9
section 45.0135, subdivision 7 section 299C.061, subdivision 10
section 45.0135, subdivision 8 section 299C.061, subdivision 11
section 45.0135, subdivision 9 section 299C.061, subdivision 12

section 299C.061, subdivision 9 section 299C.061, subdivision 13

Sec. 25. REPEALER.

Minnesota Statutes 2024, sections 45.0135, subdivisions 2a, 2c¢, 2d, 2e, 2f, 3, 4, and 5;
and 325E.21, subdivision 2b, are repealed."

Amend the title accordingly
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