Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Anderson, Chair of the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM, on March 5, 2025, in Room G3 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

ANDERSON, Paul, Chair
HARDER, Bobbie, Vice Chair
HANSEN, Rick, DFL Lead
AGBAJE, Esther
BURKEL, John
FREDERICK, Luke
GANDER, Steve
JACOB, Steve
LAWRENCE, Bryan
LEE, Fue
NELSON, Nathan
SMITH, Andy
VANG, Samantha

Representative Hansen moved the minutes of February 26, 2025 be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF 47 (Schultz) Provisions governing the certification of underground telecommunications installers modified.

Chair Anderson moved HF47 be placed on the General Register.

The following individuals testified on the bill:

Melissa Wolf, Executive Director, Minnesota Cable Communications Association

Nick Anderson, Anderson Underground

Brent Christensen, President and CEO, Minnesota Telecom Alliance

Michelle Benson, Energy and Commerce Policy Director, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Joel Hanson, Director of Government & Public Affairs, Associated Builders and Contractors Kevin Pranis, LiUMA

Jake Schweitzer, Executive Director, North Star Policy Action

Crystal Gorres, Center Point Energy

Chair Anderson moved the A1 Amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.**

Chair Anderson renewed the motion that HF47, as amended, be placed on the General Register.

Representative Hansen requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows:

AYE

ANDERSON, Paul, Chair HARDER, Bobbie, Vice Chair BURKEL, John GANDER, Steve JACOB, Steve LAWRENCE, Bryan NELSON, Nathan

NAY

HANSEN, Rick AGBAJE, Esther FREDERICK, Luke LEE, Fue SMITH, Andy VANG, Samantha

On a vote of 7 Ayes and 6 Nays, **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

Vice-Chair Harder assumed the gavel at 2:02 PM.

HF 434 (Franson) Live Cervidae importation to certain accredited facilities allowed.

Chair Anderson moved HF434 before the committee.

The following individuals testified on the bill: Joan Hemker, Hemker Park & Zoo (testifying remotely) Pat Rivers, Deputy Director, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Vice Chair Harder laid over HF434.

HF 1702 (Anderson) Funding provided for mental health outreach and support and farm safety grant and outreach programs, and money appropriated.

Chair Anderson moved HF1702 before the committee.

The following individuals testified on the bill: Hunter Pederson, Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation Gail Donkers, Minnesota Farmer's Union

Representative Hansen moved the A1 Amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.**

Vice-Chair Harder laid over HF1702, as amended.

Chair Anderson assumed the gavel at 2:25 PM.

HF 1503 (Burkel) Program established to provide grants to prevent the spread of avian influenza, and money appropriated

Representative Burkel moved HF1503 before the committee.

The following individuals testified on the bill:
Ashley Kohls, Executive Director, Minnesota Turkey Growers Association
Bruce Klaven, Minnesota Turkey Growers Association
Thom Petersen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Michelle Mediana, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Representative Burkel moved the A1 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.**

Representative Hansen moved the A2 amendment and requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows:

AYE

HANSEN, Rick AGBAJE, Esther FREDERICK, Luke LEE, Fue SMITH, Andy VANG, Samantha

NAY ANDERSON, Paul, Chair HARDER, Bobbie, Vice Chair BURKEL, John GANDER, Steve JACOB, Steve LAWRENCE, Bryan NELSON, Nathan
On a vote of 6 Ayes and 7 Nays THE AMEDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.
Representative Hansen moved the A3 amendment.
Representative Hansen withdrew the A3 amendment.
Chair Anderson laid over HF1503, as amended.
The meeting was adjourned at 2:46 PM.
Representative Paul Anderson, Chair

Connie Edwards, Committee Legislative Assistant