
1.1 .................... moves to amend S.F. No. 5289, in conference committee, as follows:​

1.2 On R92, Senate language, (S4027-1)​

1.3 Page 16, line 1, before the period, insert ", with a maximum of ten percent"​

1.4 On R97, House language, (UES5289-1)​

1.5 Page 43, line 19, reinstate the stricken language​

1.6 Page 43, line 20, reinstate the stricken language and before "ten", insert ", with a​

1.7 maximum of"​

1.8 On R79, Senate language, (S5289-3)​

1.9 Page 74, after line 6, insert:​

1.10 "ARTICLE 3​

1.11 MISCELLANEOUS​

1.12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 155A.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

1.13 Subd. 2. Qualifications. (a) Qualifications for licensing in each classification shall be​

1.14 determined by the board and established by rule, and shall include educational and​

1.15 experiential prerequisites.​

1.16 (b) A person applying for an individual license to practice as a cosmetologist, hair​

1.17 technician, manager, or instructor must: (1) successfully complete training on the properties​

1.18 of the hair and all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand​

1.19 thicknesses, and volumes of hair; and (2) have experience providing services to individuals​

1.20 with hair of all types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand​

1.21 thicknesses, and volumes of hair.​
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2.1 (c) The rules shall require a demonstrated knowledge of procedures necessary to protect​

2.2 the health and safety of the practitioner and the consumer of cosmetology services, including​

2.3 but not limited to infection control, use of implements, apparatuses and other appliances,​

2.4 and the use of chemicals.​

2.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.​

2.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 155A.2705, subdivision 3, is amended​

2.7 to read:​

2.8 Subd. 3. Training. Hair technician training must be completed at a Minnesota-licensed​

2.9 cosmetology school. The training must consist of 900 hours of coursework and planned​

2.10 clinical instruction and experience that includes:​

2.11 (1) the first 300 hours of the hair technology course that includes:​

2.12 (i) student orientation;​

2.13 (ii) preclinical instruction in the theory of sciences, including:​

2.14 (A) muscle and bone structure and function;​

2.15 (B) properties of the hair, a study of all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or​

2.16 wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair, and scalp;​

2.17 (C) disorders and diseases of the hair and scalp;​

2.18 (D) chemistry as related to hair technology; and​

2.19 (E) electricity and light related to the practice of hair technology;​

2.20 (iii) theory and preclinical instruction on client and service safety prior to students​

2.21 offering services;​

2.22 (iv) introductory service skills that are limited to the observation of an instructor​

2.23 demonstration, student use of mannequins, or student-to-student application of basic services​

2.24 related to hair technology;​

2.25 (v) Minnesota statutes and rules pertaining to the regulation of hair technology;​

2.26 (vi) health and safety instruction that includes:​

2.27 (A) chemical safety;​

2.28 (B) safety data sheets;​

2.29 (C) personal protective equipment (PPE);​
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3.1 (D) hazardous substances; and​

3.2 (E) laws and regulations related to health and public safety; and​

3.3 (vii) infection control to protect the health and safety of the public and technician that​

3.4 includes:​

3.5 (A) disinfectants;​

3.6 (B) disinfectant procedures;​

3.7 (C) cleaning and disinfection;​

3.8 (D) single use items;​

3.9 (E) storage of tools, implements, and linens; and​

3.10 (F) other implements and equipment used in salons and schools;​

3.11 (2) 300 hours in hair cutting and styling that includes hair and scalp analysis,; providing​

3.12 services to individuals who have all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave​

3.13 patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair; cleaning,; scalp and hair conditioning,;​

3.14 hair design and shaping,; drying,; arranging,; curling,; dressing,; waving,; and nonchemical​

3.15 straightening; and​

3.16 (3) 300 hours in chemical hair services that includes hair and scalp analysis,; providing​

3.17 services to individuals with all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns,​

3.18 hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair; dying,; bleaching,; reactive chemicals,; keratin,;​

3.19 hair coloring,; permanent straightening,; permanent waving,; predisposition and strand​

3.20 tests,; safety precautions,; chemical mixing,; color formulation,; and the use of dye removers.​

3.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

3.22 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.10, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

3.23 Subd. 8. Expiration and renewal. (a) All licenses and certificates, other than in-training​

3.24 certificates, issued by the board expire at midnight on June 30 of each even-numbered​

3.25 calendar year if not renewed. A holder of a license or certificate issued by the board may​

3.26 renew it by completing and filing with the board an application for renewal consisting of a​

3.27 fully completed form provided by the board and the fee specified in section 326.105. Both​

3.28 the fee and the application must be submitted at the same time and by June 30 of each​

3.29 even-numbered calendar year. The form must be signed by the applicant, contain all of the​

3.30 information requested, and clearly show that the licensee or certificate holder has completed​

3.31 the minimum number of required professional development hours or has been granted an​
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4.1 exemption under section 326.107, subdivision 4. An application for renewal that does not​

4.2 comply with the requirements of this subdivision is an incomplete application and must not​

4.3 be accepted by the board.​

4.4 (b) No later than 30 days before the expiration of a license or certificate, the board must​

4.5 send the holder of the license or certificate a notice by email that the license or certificate​

4.6 is about to expire. The notice must include information on the process and requirements for​

4.7 renewal. The application form for a new or renewed license or certificate issued by the​

4.8 board must request that the applicant provide an email address for the purpose of providing​

4.9 this notice. If the board does not have a record of a license or certificate holder's email​

4.10 address, the board must send the notice to the holder by standard mail.​

4.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to licenses​

4.12 and renewals scheduled to expire on or after that date."​
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