Energy Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee, began the meeting at 1:00 PM, on February 13, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

Representative Sexton moved the minutes of February 11, 2025 be approved. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

H28 (Mekeland) Data center generation redundancy provided.

Representative Mekeland moved HF28 be referred to the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Mekeland moved to adopt the A1 amendment. <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS</u> <u>ADOPTED.</u>

The following individuals testified on HF28:

Sydnie Lieb, Assistant Commissioner Department of Commerce Jeremy Schmidt, Superintendent Becker Public School District Cathy Johnson, President of the Coalition of Responsible Data Center Development Mo Feshami, Member Coalition of Responsible Data Center Development Mark Kolbinger, Mayor of the City of Becker Greg Lerud, Administrator City of Becker Dan Diorio, Senior Director of the Data Center Coalition Avonna Starck, State Director of the Clean Water Action Charles Sutton, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49 & North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters Member Jim Pearson, Principal Manager, State Government Affairs Xcel Energy Peter Wagenius, Legislative Director Sierra Club North Star Chapter Sarah Mooradian, Government Relations Policy Director CURE

Representative Mekeland renewed the motion that HF28 be referred to the Environment and

Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee. Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

AYES:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WEINER, Mike

NAYS:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

On a vote of 8 Ayes and 7 Nays THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:32 PM.

Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair

Sharon Goblisch, Committee Legislative Assistant