Taxes Committee

MINUTES

Representative Davids, Chair of the Taxes Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:15 AM on February 13, 2025, in Room 120 of the State Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

DAVIDS, Greg Chair

JOY, Jim Vice Chair

GOMEZ, Aisha

ANDERSON, Patti

ELKINS, Steve

FREIBERG, Mike

HANSON, Jessica

HARDER, Bobbie

HER, Kaohly

HUOT, John

JOHNSON, Wayne

KOZLOWSKI, Liish

LEE, Liz

ROACH, Drew

ROBBINS, Kristin

SCHWARTZ, Erica

SMITH, Andy

STEPHENSON, Zach

SWEDZINSKI, Chris

WARWAS, Cal

WEINER, Mike

WITTE, Jeff

YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Non-Voting member present:

NORRIS, Matt

Members Absent:

Representative Smith moved the minutes from February 12, 2025 be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF146 (Gillman) 2023 aid penalty forgiveness provided to the city of Stewart, and money appropriated.

Testifying:

Beth Johnston, Intergovernmental Relations, League of Minnesota Cities

Representative Davids laid over HF146 for possible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.

HF161 (Elkins) Cities authorized to create land-value taxation districts.

Testifying:	
Joshua Houdek, Senior Program Manager, La Brian Cook, Director, Tax, Fiscal And Election	and Use and Transportation ons Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
Representative Davids laid over HF161 for p	ossible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.
HF170 (Davids) Ten-year phaseout of the o	estate tax provided.
Testifying:	
Hunter Pederson, Public Policy Specialist, Fa	arm Bureau Insurance
Representative Davids laid over HF170 for possible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.	
The meeting was adjourned at 11:30 PM.	
	Representative Greg Davids, Chair
	Jennifer H. Goblirsch Committee Legislative Assistant