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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 32 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 3.736, subdivision 4, is amended to read:1.3

Subd. 4. Limits. The total liability of the state and its employees acting within the1.4

scope of their employment on any tort claim shall not exceed:1.5

(a) $300,000 when the claim is one for death by wrongful act or omission and1.6

$300,000 to any claimant in any other case, for claims arising before August 1, 2007;1.7

(b) $400,000 when the claim is one for death by wrongful act or omission and1.8

$400,000 to any claimant in any other case, for claims arising on or after August 1, 2007,1.9

and before July 1, 2009;1.10

(c) $500,000 when the claim is one for death by wrongful act or omission and1.11

$500,000 to any claimant in any other case, for claims arising on or after July 1, 2009;1.12

(d) $750,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for claims1.13

arising on or after January 1, 1998, and before January 1, 2000;1.14

(e) $1,000,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for1.15

claims arising on or after January 1, 2000, and before January 1, 2008, and for claims1.16

involving nonprofit organizations engaged in or administering outdoor recreational1.17

activities funded in whole or in part by the state or operating under the authorization of1.18

a permit issued by an agency or department of the state;1.19

(f) $1,200,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for1.20

claims arising on or after January 1, 2008, and before July 1, 2009; or1.21

(g) $1,500,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for1.22

claims arising on or after July 1, 2009.1.23

If the amount awarded to or settled upon multiple claimants exceeds the applicable1.24

limit under clause (d), (e), (f), or (g), any party may apply to the district court to apportion1.25

to each claimant a proper share of the amount available under the applicable limit under1.26

clause (d), (e), (f), or (g). The share apportioned to each claimant shall be in the proportion1.27

Section 1. 1
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that the ratio of the award or settlement bears to the aggregate awards and settlements for2.1

all claims arising out of the occurrence.2.2

The limitation imposed by this subdivision on individual claimants includes damages2.3

claimed for loss of services or loss of support arising out of the same tort.2.4

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment,2.5

and applies to claims arising from acts or omissions that occur on or after that date.2.6

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 466.04, subdivision 1, is amended to read:2.7

Subdivision 1. Limits; punitive damages. (a) Liability of any municipality on any2.8

claim within the scope of sections 466.01 to 466.15 shall not exceed:2.9

(1) $300,000 when the claim is one for death by wrongful act or omission and2.10

$300,000 to any claimant in any other case, for claims arising before January 1, 2008;2.11

(2) $400,000 when the claim is one for death by wrongful act or omission and2.12

$400,000 to any claimant in any other case, for claims arising on or after January 1,2.13

2008, and before July 1, 2009;2.14

(3) $500,000 when the claim is one for death by wrongful act or omission and2.15

$500,000 to any claimant in any other case, for claims arising on or after July 1, 2009;2.16

(4) $750,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for claims2.17

arising on or after January 1, 1998, and before January 1, 2000;2.18

(5) $1,000,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for2.19

claims arising on or after January 1, 2000, and before January 1, 2008, and for claims2.20

involving nonprofit organizations engaged in or administering outdoor recreational2.21

activities funded in whole or in part by a municipality or operating under the authorization2.22

of a permit issued by a municipality;2.23

(6) $1,200,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for2.24

claims arising on or after January 1, 2008, and before July 1, 2009;2.25

(7) $1,500,000 for any number of claims arising out of a single occurrence, for2.26

claims arising on or after July 1, 2009; or2.27

(8) twice the limits provided in clauses (1) to (7) when the claim arises out of the2.28

release or threatened release of a hazardous substance, whether the claim is brought under2.29

sections 115B.01 to 115B.15 or under any other law.2.30

(b) No award for damages on any such claim shall include punitive damages.2.31

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment,2.32

and applies to claims arising from acts or omissions that occur on or after that date."2.33

Amend the title accordingly2.34

Sec. 2. 2


