#### SEVENTH MEETING NINETY-FOURTH SESSION

#### Taxes Committee

#### MINUTES

Representative Davids, Chair of the Taxes Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:15AM on February 26, 2025, in Room 120 of the State Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

DAVIDS, Greg Chair JOY, Jim Vice Chair GOMEZ, Aisha ANDERSON, Patti ELKINS, Steve FREIBERG, Mike HANSON, Jessica HARDER, Bobbie HER, Kaohly HUOT, John JOHNSON, Wayne KOZLOWSKI, Liish LEE, Liz ROACH. Drew **ROBBINS**, Kristin SCHWARTZ, Erica SMITH, Andy STEPHENSON, Zack SWEDZINSKI, Chris WARWAS, Cal WIENER, Mike WITTE, Jeff YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Non-Voting member present:

NORRIS, Matt

Members Absent:

Representative Smith moved the minutes from February 25, 2025 be approved. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

HF9 (Swedzinski) Hydroelectric capacity that qualifies as an eligible energy technology under the renewable energy standard modified; electric utility requirements relating to energy, solar, or carbon-free standards delayed under certain conditions; and sales tax exemption for residential heating fuels and electricity expanded.

Representative Gomez moved to adopt the A11 Amendment. Representative Gomez withdrew the A11 Amendment.

HF385 (Norris) Individual income tax subtraction provided for discharges of indebtedness, and certain discharges of indebtedness excluded from income.

Testifying: Ron Elwood, Attorney, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid

Chairman Davids laid over HF385 for possible inclusion in the Tax Omnibus Bill.

# HF5 (Joy) Imposition and allocation of certain taxes modified, tax analysis required, transportation funding impacts analysis required, retail delivery fee repealed, unlimited Social Security subtraction provided, reports required, and money appropriated.

# Representative Joy moved to adopt the A12 Amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE</u> <u>AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Joy moved to adopt the A13 Amendment. Representative Gomez requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows:

# AYES

DAVIDS, Greg JOY, Jim ANDERSON, Patti HARDER, Bobbie JOHNSON, Wayne ROACH, Drew ROBBINS, Kristin SCHWARTZ, Erica SWEDZINSKI, Chris WARWAS, Cal WIENER, Mike WITTE, Jeff

#### <u>NAYS</u>

GOMEZ, Aisha ELKINS, Steve FREIBERG, Mike HANSON, Jessica HER, Kaohly HUOT, John KOZLOWSKI, Liish LEE, Liz SMITH, Andy STEPHENSON, Zack YOUAKIM, Cheryl

On a vote of 12 Ayes and 11 Nays, THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

# Representative Joy moved to adopt the All Amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE</u> <u>AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testifying:

Aurora Vautrin, Legislative Director, 100% John Thorson, LIUNA Nan Madden, Minnesota Budget Project Director, Minnesota Council of Nonprofits Cap O'Rourke. President, Minnesota Small Cities Chairman Davids moved that HF5, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Transportation. Representative Freiberg requested a roll call. The results were as follows:

# AYES

DAVIDS, Greg JOY, Jim ANDERSON, Patti HARDER, Bobbie JOHNSON, Wayne ROACH, Drew ROBBINS, Kristin SCHWARTZ, Erica SWEDZINSKI, Chris WARWAS, Cal WIENER, Mike WITTE, Jeff

#### NAYS

GOMEZ, Aisha ELKINS, Steve FREIBERG, Mike HANSON, Jessica HER, Kaohly HUOT, John KOZLOWSKI, Liish LEE, Liz SMITH, Andy STEPHENSON, Zack YOUAKIM, Cheryl

On a vote of 12 AYES and 11 Nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:54 AM.

Representative Greg Davids, Chair

Jennifer H. Goblirsch Committee Legislative Assistant