Energy Finance & Policy Committee Meeting

Chair: Rep. Patty Acomb & Co-Chair: Rep. Chris Swedzinski Vice-Chair: Rep. Larry Kraft & Co-Vice-Chair: Rep. Tom Murphy

April 1, 2025 1:00 p.m. State Capitol – Room 123

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Minutes from March 27, 2025
- III. HF2928 (Acomb) Preapplication filings for large water appropriation projects required, permit application information for large water appropriation projects added, level of environmental review for data centers specified, data centers exempted from making financial contributions to an energy conservation and optimization plan, and other data center provisions modified.

Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director, Citizens Utulity Board Sydnie Lieb, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Commerce Katie Smith, Director, Ecological and Waters Resources Divisions, Minnesota DNR Chis Duffrin, President, Center for Energy and Environment Zac Ruzycki, Director of Resource Planning, Great River Energy Ryan Hentges, President and CEO, Dakota Electric Association Michelle Benson, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Dan Diorio, Senior Director, State Policy Director, Data Center Coalition Cathy Johnson Sarah Mooradian, Policy Director, CURE Zach Martin, Government Affairs Manager, ALLETE Aaron Klemz, Chief Strategy Officer, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy Peter Wagenius. Sierra Club Sara Wolff, Policy Director, Minnesota Interfaith Power and Light George Shardlow, Executive Director, Energy CENTS Coalition

- IV. HF2912 (Her) Macalester College geothermal energy system funding provided, and money appropriated.
- V. RC 25-04891 (Kraft) Virtual power plants

Kevin Brehm, Rocky Mountain Institute Patty O'Keefe, Regional Director, Vote Solar James Pearson, Xcel Energy David Moberg Policy & Regulatory Affairs Associate, MnSEIA Joe Hoppe, Manager of Legislative Affairs, Otter Tail Power Company Shannon Anderson, Solar United Neighbors (virtual) Michael Overend, Two Harbors (virtual) VI. HF2297 (Myers) - Special license plate established for solar pollinator programs, and agrivoltaic solar sites made eligible for solar site management practices.

Sarah Whebbe, Senior Policy & Regulatory Affairs Associate, MnSEIA Lindsay J. Brice, Policy Director, Audubon Upper Mississippi River Colleen Hollinger, Director, Business & Industry Development, Natural Resource Services (Virtual)

VII. Adjournment