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Overview 

H.F. 950 establishes an income tax exemption for nonresident employees who 

work in Minnesota for 30 days or fewer. Employers whose employees qualify for 

the exemption would also be exempt from withholding requirements. The bill 

does not apply to individuals who pay the nonresident entertainer tax. 

Under current law, nonresidents must file a Minnesota return if their Minnesota-

source income was more than the standard deduction for a single taxpayer 

($14,950 in 2025). 

The bill specifies that employers who meet certain requirements for time and 

attendance record keeping are exempt from penalties for failure to withhold. It 

also details rules for how to determine whether an employee worked a day in 

Minnesota. 

Summary 

Section Description 

1 Income of certain nonresidents. 

Subd. 1. Exemption allowed. Excludes from gross income the amount of 
compensation received by a qualifying nonresident employee for employment 
duties in Minnesota. 

Subd. 2. Definition. Defines “employee” and “employer” based on the existing 
definition in the state’s withholding law. 

Defines “employment duties” as professional or personal services performed for 
an employer by an employee. 

Defines “entertainer” based on the definition for the existing state tax on 
nonresident entertainers. 
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Section Description 

Defines “qualifying nonresident individual” as an individual who (1) resides in 
another state; (2) is paid wages for employment duties (other than 
entertainment) in Minnesota for 30 or fewer days; (3) performed employment 
duties in more than one state; and (4) whose state provides a substantially 
similar exclusion or does not have an income tax. 

Defines “time and attendance system” as a system through which an employee is 
required to record the work location on a contemporaneous basis and which is 
designed to allow the employer to allocate the employee’s compensation for 
income tax. 

Subd. 3. Withholding exemption; limitation. Exempts employers from the 
requirement to withhold tax on wages paid to a nonresident individual who 
works fewer than 30 days in Minnesota. Specifies that withholding is required on 
all wages earned in Minnesota, if a nonresident employee works for more than 
30 days in the state. 

Subd. 4. Employers; application of penalties. Forbids DOR from imposing 
penalties on employers for failing to deduct withhold income taxes if the 
employer: 

1) maintains a time and attendance system and relied on data from that 
system; 

2) the employer does not maintain a time and attendance system but relies 
on the employer’s own records or the employee’s reasonable 
determination (if the employer had no knowledge of fraud or did not 
collude with the employee to evade taxation). 

Subd. 5. Timing of employment duties performed. Specifies that an employee is 
considered to have performed employment duties in Minnesota if the employee 
performs more duties in Minnesota than in any other state. Days in transit are 
not considered in determining the location where duties were performed. 

Subd. 6. Severability. Specifies that if any provision of the section is found 
unconstitutional, then all other provisions remain valid. 

Effective for tax year 2026 and later. 
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