Tax Staff Subject Area Responsibilities 2025 Legislative Session

House Research Department staff

Jared Swanson		
(jared.swanson@house.mn.gov)		
 Property tax Property tax simulations Fiscal disparities County program aid Local government aid Other state aids to local governments Taconite and minerals taxes Taconite aids Special taxing districts Levy limits* Payments in lieu of property taxes (PILT) 		
Sean Williams		
(sean.williams@house.mn.gov)		
 Individual income tax Property tax refund Modeling of individual income tax 		

^{*} School district levy estimates and school district tax modeling generally is provided on the House Research staff by Tim Strom (tim.strom@house.mn.gov). Gas tax issues are handled by Matt Burress (matt.burress@house.mn.gov).

House Fiscal Analysis Department staff

Cynthia Templin Katrina Heimark (katrina.heimark@house.mn.gov) (cynthia.templin@house.mn.gov) Property tax refunds and credits Individual income tax Local aids and credits General sales and motor vehicle sales taxes State property tax Corporate franchise tax Local property taxes and administration Estate tax Mining and aggregate taxes Excise taxes (alcohol, cigarette/tobacco, motor Local special taxes fuels, other taxes such as cannabis and sports Payments in lieu of property taxes (PILT) betting) Tax increment financing (TIF) Health Care Taxes Fiscal disparities Lawful gambling taxes Public finance Insurance gross receipts taxes Tax rankings Tax compliance and administrative budgets

Nonpartisan Legislative Tax Staff Assignments by Subject Areas – 2025 Legislative Session

	House Research House Research			
Subject Area	primary	backup	Fiscal Analyst	
Alcoholic beverage excise	Christopher Kleman	Alexandra Haigler	Cynthia Templin	
Cigarette and tobacco products	Alexandra Haigler	Christopher Kleman	Cynthia Templin	
Constitutional issues: state taxes	Christopher Kleman	Alexandra Haigler		
Constitutional issues: local taxes	Justin Cope	Alexandra Haigler		
Corporate franchise tax	Christopher Kleman	Sean Williams	Cynthia Templin	
County aid	Jared Swanson		Katrina Heimark	
Estate tax	Christopher Kleman	Sean Williams	Cynthia Templin	
Fiscal disparities	Jared Swanson		Katrina Heimark	
Gambling taxes	Alexandra Haigler	Christopher Kleman	Cynthia Templin	
Individual income tax	Sean Williams	Christopher Kleman	Cynthia Templin	
Modeling	Sean Williams		Cynthia Templin	
Insurance premiums tax	Christopher Kleman	Sean Williams	Cynthia Templin	
Local government aid	Jared Swanson		Katrina Heimark	
Minerals				
Occupation tax	Christopher Kleman	Jared Swanson	Cynthia Templin	
Production tax	Jared Swanson	Christopher Kleman	Katrina Heimark	
Taconite and other aid	Jared Swanson	Christopher Kleman	Katrina Heimark	
Gravel/aggregate tax	Justin Cope	Christopher Kleman	Katrina Heimark	
MinnesotaCare taxes	Christopher Kleman	Sean Williams	Cynthia Templin	
Mortgage and deed taxes	Justin Cope	Alexandra Haigler	Cynthia Templin Katrina Heimark	
Motor vehicle-related taxes	Matt Burress	Alexandra Haigler	Andrew Lee* Katrina Heimark	
Property tax				
Administration	Jared Swanson	Justin Cope	Katrina Heimark	
Assessment	Jared Swanson	Justin Cope	Katrina Heimark	
Credits	Jared Swanson	Justin Cope	Katrina Heimark	
Exempt property	Jared Swanson	Justin Cope	Katrina Heimark	
Levy limits	Jared Swanson	Justin Cope	Katrina Heimark	
PILT (payment in lieu)	Jared Swanson	Janelle Taylor*	Katrina Heimark	
Truth-in-taxation	Jared Swanson	Justin Cope	Katrina Heimark	
Property tax refund	Sean Williams	Jared Swanson	Katrina Heimark	
Property tax simulations: general	Jared Swanson		Katrina Heimark	
Property tax simulations: levies	Jared Swanson		Katrina Heimark	
Public finance	Justin Cope	Christopher Kleman	Katrina Heimark	
Sales tax (state and local)	Alexandra Haigler	Christopher Kleman	Cynthia Templin	
Solid waste taxes	Justin Cope	Christopher Kleman	Cynthia Templin	
Special assessments	Justin Cope	Jared Swanson	Katrina Heimark	
Special taxing districts	Jared Swanson	Justin Cope	Katrina Heimark	
Tax incidence	Sean Williams		Cynthia Templin	
Tax increment financing (TIF)	Justin Cope	Christopher Kleman	Katrina Heimark	
Tax rankings	Sean Williams		Cynthia Templin	

^{*}Andrew Lee (andrew.lee@house.mn.gov)
*Janelle Taylor (janelle.taylor@house.mn.gov)