Energy Finance and Policy Committee

#### MINUTES

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM, on March 11, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

Representative Mekeland moved the minutes of March 6, 2025, be approved. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED.</u>

## HF 252 (Igo) - Minnesota Public Utilities; small natural gas utilities eligibility amended to be exempt from regulation.

Representative Igo moved HF252 be re-referred to the General Register.

Testifiers: Rachel Sorrentino, Northwest Gas

Representative Igo renewed the motion that HF252 be re-referred to the General Register Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

# **HF 787** (Anderson) - Electricity generated outside the state exempted from the requirement that a proportion of retail electricity be carbon-free by certain dates.

Representative Anderson moved HF787 be re-referred to the General Register.

Representative Anderson moved to adopt the DE1 amendment. <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS</u> <u>ADOPTED.</u>

Testifiers: Jonathan Fortner, Lignite Energy Council Veda Kanitz, Minnesota DFL Environment Caucus Sam Smith, Department of Commerce Representative Kraft requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

### AYES:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

### NAYS:

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

On a vote of 8 Ayes and 7 Nays THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Anderson renewed the motion that HF787 as amended be re-referred to the General Register Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 1:56 PM.

Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair

Sharon Goblisch, Committee Legislative Assistant