
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1224 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

1.4 Subdivision 1. Postponement by mortgagee. (a) The sale may be postponed, from time​

1.5 to time, by the party conducting the foreclosure. The party requesting the postponement​

1.6 must, at the party's expense:​

1.7 (1) publish, only once, a notice of the postponement and the rescheduled date of the sale,​

1.8 if known, as soon as practicable, in the newspaper in which the notice under section 580.03​

1.9 was published; and​

1.10 (2) send by first class mail to the occupant, postmarked within three business days of​

1.11 the postponed sale, notice:​

1.12 (i) of the postponement; and​

1.13 (ii) if known, of the rescheduled date of the sale and the date on or before which the​

1.14 mortgagor must vacate the property if the sheriff's sale is not further postponed, the mortgage​

1.15 is not reinstated under section 580.30, the property is not redeemed under section 580.23,​

1.16 or the redemption period is not reduced under section 582.032. The notice must state that​

1.17 the time to vacate the property is 11:59 p.m. on the specified date.​

1.18 (b) If the rescheduled date of the sale is not known at the time of the initial publication​

1.19 and notice to the occupant of postponement, the foreclosing party must, at its expense if​

1.20 and when a new date of sale is scheduled:​

1.21 (1) publish, only once, notice of the rescheduled date of the sale, as soon as practicable,​

1.22 in the newspaper in which the notice under section 580.03 and the notice of postponement​

1.23 under paragraph (a) was published; and​
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2.1 (2) send by first class mail to the occupant, postmarked within ten days of the rescheduled​

2.2 sale, notice:​

2.3 (i) of the date of the rescheduled sale; and​

2.4 (ii) of the date on or before which the mortgagor must vacate the property if the mortgage​

2.5 is not reinstated under section 580.30 or the property redeemed under section 580.23. The​

2.6 notice must state that the time to vacate the property is 11:59 p.m. on the specified date.​

2.7 (c) The right of a mortgagee to postpone a foreclosure sale under this section applies to​

2.8 a foreclosure by action taken under chapter 581.​

2.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, for judicial foreclosures​

2.10 with the lis pendens recorded on or after the effective date.​

2.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 580.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2.12 Subd. 2. Postponement by mortgagor or owner. (a) If all or a part of the property to​

2.13 be sold is classified as homestead under section 273.124 and contains one to four dwelling​

2.14 units, the mortgagor or owner may, in the manner provided in this subdivision, postpone​

2.15 the sale to the first date that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday and is:​

2.16 (1) five months after the originally scheduled date of sale if the original redemption​

2.17 period was six months under section 580.23, subdivision 1; or​

2.18 (2) 11 months after the originally scheduled date of sale if the original redemption period​

2.19 was 12 months under section 580.23, subdivision 2. To postpone a foreclosure sale pursuant​

2.20 to this subdivision, at any time after the first publication of the notice of mortgage foreclosure​

2.21 sale under section 580.03 but at least 15 days prior to the scheduled sale date specified in​

2.22 that notice, the mortgagor shall: (1) execute a sworn affidavit in the form set forth in​

2.23 subdivision 3, (2) record the affidavit in the office of each county recorder and registrar of​

2.24 titles where the mortgage was recorded, and (3) file with the sheriff conducting the sale and​

2.25 deliver to the attorney foreclosing the mortgage a copy of the recorded affidavit, showing​

2.26 the date and office in which the affidavit was recorded. Recording of the affidavit and​

2.27 postponement of the foreclosure sale pursuant to this subdivision shall automatically reduce​

2.28 the mortgagor's redemption period under section 580.23 to five weeks. The postponement​

2.29 of a foreclosure sale pursuant to this subdivision does not require any change in the contents​

2.30 of the notice of sale, service of the notice of sale if the occupant was served with the notice​

2.31 of sale prior to postponement under this subdivision, or publication of the notice of sale if​

2.32 publication was commenced prior to postponement under this subdivision, notwithstanding​

2.33 the service and publication time periods specified in section 580.03, but the sheriff's​
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3.1 certificate of sale shall indicate the actual date of the foreclosure sale and the actual length​

3.2 of the mortgagor's redemption period. No notice of postponement need be published. An​

3.3 affidavit complying with subdivision 3 shall be prima facie evidence of the facts stated​

3.4 therein, and shall be entitled to be recorded. The right to postpone a foreclosure sale pursuant​

3.5 to this subdivision may be exercised only once, regardless whether the mortgagor reinstates​

3.6 the mortgage prior to the postponed mortgage foreclosure sale.​

3.7 (b) If the automatic stay under United States Code, title 11, section 362, applies to the​

3.8 mortgage foreclosure after a mortgagor or owner requests postponement of the sheriff's sale​

3.9 under this section, then when the automatic stay is no longer applicable, the mortgagor's or​

3.10 owner's election to shorten the redemption period to five weeks under this section remains​

3.11 applicable to the mortgage foreclosure.​

3.12 (c) Except for the circumstances set forth in paragraph (b), this section does not reduce​

3.13 the mortgagor's redemption period under section 580.23 for any subsequent foreclosure of​

3.14 the mortgage.​

3.15 (d) The right of a mortgagor or owner to postpone a foreclosure sale under this section​

3.16 applies to a foreclosure by action taken under chapter 581.​

3.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, for judicial foreclosures​

3.18 with the lis pendens recorded on or after the effective date.​

3.19 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2024, section 581.02, is amended to read:​

3.20 581.02 APPLICATION, CERTAIN SECTIONS.​

3.21 (a) The provisions of sections 580.08, 580.09, 580.12, 580.22, 580.25, and 580.27, so​

3.22 far as they relate to the form of the certificate of sale, shall apply to and govern the​

3.23 foreclosure of mortgages by action.​

3.24 (b) Section 580.07 applies to actions for the foreclosure of mortgages taken under this​

3.25 chapter.​

3.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2025, for judicial foreclosures​

3.27 with the lis pendens recorded on or after the effective date."​

3.28 Amend the title accordingly​
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