1.1	moves to amend S.F. No. 5289, in conference committee, as follows:
1.2	On R92, Senate language, (S4027-1)
1.3	Page 16, line 1, before the period, insert ", with a maximum of ten percent"
1.4	On R97, House language, (UES5289-1)
1.5	Page 43, line 19, reinstate the stricken language
1.6	Page 43, line 20, reinstate the stricken language and before "ten", insert ", with a
1.7	maximum of"
1.8	On R79, Senate language, (S5289-3)
1.9	Page 74, after line 6, insert:
1.10	"ARTICLE 3
1.11	MISCELLANEOUS
1.12	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 155A.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.13	Subd. 2. Qualifications. (a) Qualifications for licensing in each classification shall be
1.14	determined by the board and established by rule, and shall include educational and
1.15	experiential prerequisites.
1.16	(b) A person applying for an individual license to practice as a cosmetologist, hair
1.17	technician, manager, or instructor must: (1) successfully complete training on the properties
1.18	of the hair and all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand
1.19	thicknesses, and volumes of hair; and (2) have experience providing services to individuals
1.20	with hair of all types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, hair strand
1.21	thicknesses, and volumes of hair.

05/16/24 08:38 pm

2.1

(c) The rules shall require a demonstrated knowledge of procedures necessary to protect the health and safety of the practitioner and the consumer of cosmetology services, including 2.2 but not limited to infection control, use of implements, apparatuses and other appliances, 2.3 and the use of chemicals. 2.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024. 2.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 155A.2705, subdivision 3, is amended 2.6 to read: 2.7 Subd. 3. Training. Hair technician training must be completed at a Minnesota-licensed 2.8 cosmetology school. The training must consist of 900 hours of coursework and planned 2.9 clinical instruction and experience that includes: 2.10 (1) the first 300 hours of the hair technology course that includes: 2.11 (i) student orientation; 2.12 (ii) preclinical instruction in the theory of sciences, including: 2.13 (A) muscle and bone structure and function; 2.14 (B) properties of the hair, a study of all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or 2.15 wave patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair, and scalp; 2.16 2.17 (C) disorders and diseases of the hair and scalp; (D) chemistry as related to hair technology; and 2.18 (E) electricity and light related to the practice of hair technology; 2.19 (iii) theory and preclinical instruction on client and service safety prior to students 2.20 offering services; 2.21 (iv) introductory service skills that are limited to the observation of an instructor 2.22 demonstration, student use of mannequins, or student-to-student application of basic services 2.23 related to hair technology; 2.24 (v) Minnesota statutes and rules pertaining to the regulation of hair technology; 2.25 (vi) health and safety instruction that includes: 2.26 (A) chemical safety; 2.27 (B) safety data sheets; 2.28 (C) personal protective equipment (PPE); 2.29

05/16/24 08:38 pm

- (D) hazardous substances; and 3.1 (E) laws and regulations related to health and public safety; and 3.2 (vii) infection control to protect the health and safety of the public and technician that 3.3 includes: 3.4 (A) disinfectants; 3.5 (B) disinfectant procedures; 3.6 (C) cleaning and disinfection; 3.7 (D) single use items; 3.8 (E) storage of tools, implements, and linens; and 3.9 (F) other implements and equipment used in salons and schools; 3.10 (2) 300 hours in hair cutting and styling that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing 3.11 services to individuals who have all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave 3.12 patterns, hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair; cleaning; scalp and hair conditioning; 3.13 hair design and shaping;; drying;; arranging;; curling;; dressing;; waving;; and nonchemical 3.14 straightening; and 3.15 (3) 300 hours in chemical hair services that includes hair and scalp analysis; providing 3.16 services to individuals with all hair types and textures, including coil, curl, or wave patterns, 3.17 hair strand thicknesses, and volumes of hair; dying; bleaching; reactive chemicals; keratin; 3.18 hair coloring;; permanent straightening;; permanent waving;; predisposition and strand 3.19 tests;; safety precautions;; chemical mixing;; color formulation;; and the use of dye removers. 3.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024. 3.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 326.10, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 3.22 Subd. 8. Expiration and renewal. (a) All licenses and certificates, other than in-training 3.23 certificates, issued by the board expire at midnight on June 30 of each even-numbered 3.24 calendar year if not renewed. A holder of a license or certificate issued by the board may 3.25 renew it by completing and filing with the board an application for renewal consisting of a 3.26 fully completed form provided by the board and the fee specified in section 326.105. Both 3.27 the fee and the application must be submitted at the same time and by June 30 of each 3.28 even-numbered calendar year. The form must be signed by the applicant, contain all of the 3.29
  - information requested, and clearly show that the licensee or certificate holder has completed the minimum number of required professional development hours or has been granted an 3.31

3.30

3

- exemption under section 326.107, subdivision 4. An application for renewal that does not
  comply with the requirements of this subdivision is an incomplete application and must not
  be accepted by the board.
- 4.4 (b) No later than 30 days before the expiration of a license or certificate, the board must
- 4.5 send the holder of the license or certificate a notice by email that the license or certificate
- 4.6 is about to expire. The notice must include information on the process and requirements for
- 4.7 renewal. The application form for a new or renewed license or certificate issued by the
- 4.8 board must request that the applicant provide an email address for the purpose of providing
- 4.9 this notice. If the board does not have a record of a license or certificate holder's email
- 4.10 <u>address</u>, the board must send the notice to the holder by standard mail.
- 4.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to licenses
- 4.12 and renewals scheduled to expire on or after that date."