STATE OF MINNESOTA FOURTY-FIRST MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. February 24, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN. Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan

A quorum was present.

THEIS, Tama

Representative Heintzeman moved that the minutes of February 22, 2022, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hansen moved that HF 3571 (Kotyza-Witthuhn) be recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Hansen moved that the A1 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn presented HF 3571, as amended; PFAS prohibited in juvenile products.

Testifying on HF 3571 (Kotyza-Witthuhn) and HF 3180 (Jordan):

- Andrea Lovoll, Legislative Coordinator, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy.
- Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce.
- Deanna White, State Director, Clean Water Action Alliance of Minnesota.
- Lori Olinger, Sierra Club North Star Chapter.
- Tom Johnson, Government Relations Director, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Chair Hansen renewed his motion that HF 3571, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Hansen directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 3571, as amended.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick WAZLAWIK, Ami ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

LEE, Fue

LIPPERT, Todd

MORRISON, Kelly

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh

BACKER, Jeff

GREEN, Steve

IGO, Spencer

LUECK, Dale

NELSON, Nathan

THEIS, Tama

There being 12 ayes and 7 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Jordan moved that HF 3180 (Jordan) be recommended to be re-referred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Jordan moved that the A1 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Jordan presented HF 3180, as amended; PFAS prohibited in home and commercial furnishing.

Representative Jordan renewed her motion that HF 3180, as amended, be recommended to be rereferred to the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Hansen directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 3180, as amended.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick

WAZLAWIK, Ami

ACOMB, Patty

AKLAND, Susan

BECKER-FINN, Jamie

ECKLUND, Rob

FISCHER, Peter

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

LEE, Fue

LIPPERT, Todd

MORRISON, Kelly

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh

GREEN, Steve

IGO, Spencer

LUECK. Dale

NELSON, Nathan

THEIS, Tama

ABSENT:

BACKER, Jeff

There being 12 ayes, 6 nays, and 1 absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 2:02 P.M.

Representative Hansen moved that HF 3617 (Hansen) be recommended to be re-referred to Ways and Means.

Representative Hansen presented HF 3617; Aquatic invasive species grant funding provided, and money appropriated.

Testifying on HF 3617:

- Jeff Forester, Executive Director, Minnesota Lakes and Rivers Advocates.

Representative Hansen renewed his motion that HF 3617 be recommended to be re-referred to Ways and Means.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 3617.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick

WAZLAWIK, Ami

HEINTZEMAN, Josh

AKLAND, Susan

BACKER, Jeff

BECKER-FINN, Jamie

ECKLUND, Rob

FISCHER, Peter

GREEN, Steve

IGO, Spencer

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

LEE, Fue

LIPPERT, Todd

LUECK, Dale

MORRISON, Kelly

NELSON, Nathan

THEIS, Tama

ABSENT:

ACOMB, Patty

There being 18 ayes and 1 absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED

Representative Hansen moved that HF 3616 (Hansen) be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Hansen presented HF 3616; Tourism industry recovery grant program funding provided, and money appropriated.

Testifying on HF 3616:

- Sarah Psick, Minnesota Tourism Growth Coalition.
- Rachel Thompson, Executive Director, Visit Greater St. Cloud.
- Terry Mattson, President, Visit St. Paul.
- Mike Schwieters, Boyd Lodge; Crosslake, Minnesota.
- Lauren Bennett McGinty, Executive Director, Explore Minnesota.

Representative Hansen withdrew his motion that HF 3616 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Hansen moved that HF 3616 be laid over until Tuesday, March 1, 2022. The bill was laid over.
Vice-Chair Wazlawik adjourned the meeting at 2:30 P.M.
Rick Hansen Chair of Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy
Scotland Kraker Committee Legislative Assistant