## Human Services Finance and Policy Committee

#### **MINUTES**

Chair Schomacker called the meeting to order at 8:15AM on March 27, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SCHOMACKER, Joe Chair GILLMAN, Dawn Vice Chair

NOOR, Mohamud

KEELER, Heather

BACKER, Jeff

CURRAN, Brion

FISCHER, Peter

FRANSON, Mary

FREDERICK, Luke

GORDON, Jimmy

HICKS, Kim

JACOB, Steve

KNUDSEN Krista

MOMANYI-HILTSLEY, Huldah

MURPHY, Tom

NORRIS, Matt

VIRNIG, Bianca

Members excused:

GANDER, Steve

A quorum was present.

Representative Murphy moved the minutes of March 26, 2025, be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

HF 1937 (Reyer) – Program for All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly service delivery system implemented.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 1937 before the committee.

## **Testifiers:**

Tony Albright, Poul Haas Wayne Olson, Presbyterian Homes John Thao, Managing Director, BoldAge PACE Eric Nilsen, Volunteers of America National Services Chelsey Olson, Minnesota Council of Health Plans

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 1937.

HF 2407 (Zeleznikar) – Residents of long-term care facilities provided with right to a designated support person.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 2407 before the committee.

Chair Schomacker moved to adopt the A4 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS

# ADOPTED.

Chair Schomacker moved to adopt the A3 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

#### **Testifiers:**

Erin Huppert & Kyle Berndt, LTC Imperative Lindsay Krueger, Assistant Division Director, Minnesota Department of Health Autumn Baum, Assistant Legislative Director, Minnesota Department of Health Parichay Rudina, Legislative Specialist, Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 2407 as amended.

HF 1840 (Altendorf) – Standard for determining the residence of an individual subject to a civil commitment order established.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 1840 before the committee.

## **Testifiers:**

Doug Junten, Council Member, Moose Lake Mark Hollis, resident of Moose Lake

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 1840.

HF 257 (Hanson, J) – Long-term services and supports review process established for denials for eligibility.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 257 before the committee.

Chair Schomacker moved to adopt the DE1 amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

## **Testifiers:**

Ellen Smart, Staff Attorney, Legal Aid/Minnesota Disability Law Center Jillian Nelson, Policy Director, Autism Society of Minnesota

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 257 as amended.

HF 1678 (Virnig) – Eligibility for essential community supports modified, available services expanded, funding for caregiver respite service grants increased, and money appropriated.

Representative Virnig moved HF 1678 before the committee.

## **Testifiers:**

Robert Freeman, Vice-President, Alzheimer's Association MN-ND Chapter Tuesday Glover, Director of Culturally Responsive. Caregiver Support and Dementia Services, Volunteers of America MN/WI.

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 1678.

HF 1477 (Nadeau) - Residential program licensing requirements modified.

Chair Schomacker moved HF 1477 before the committee.

Chair Schomacker moved the A2 amendment. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

# **Testifiers:**

Sara Grafstrom, ARRM
Scott Schulte, City of Champlin Economic Development Director
Hollies Winston, Brooklyn Park Mayor
Jason Newby, Brooklyn Park Inspections and Environmental Health Manager,
Mark Bruley, Brooklyn Park Chief of Police
Samantha Brown, Brooklyn Park Detective
Daniel Lightfoot, Senior Intergovernmental Relations Representative, League of

MN Cities

Josh Berg, Director of Minnesota Services & Strategic Growth, Accessible Space, In

Josh Berg, Director of Minnesota Services & Strategic Growth, Accessible Space, Inc. Zahnia Harut, Residential Providers Association Minnesota

Chair Schomacker laid over HF 1477 as amended.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:08AM.

Representative Joe Schomacker, Chair
Joseph Fruehauf, Committee Legislative Assistant