

## Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee

February 27, 2025 G-3 Capitol – 10:15 AM

# Agenda

## Chair

Rep. Peggy Scott 2<sup>nd</sup> floor Centennial Office Building St. Paul. MN 55155

#### **DFL Caucus Lead**

Rep. Tina Liebling (non-voting) 5<sup>th</sup> floor Centennial Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

#### Vice Chair

Rep. Walter Hudson

#### Members

Rep. Matt Bliss

Rep. Brion Curran

Rep. Bidal Duran

Rep. Elliot Engen

Rep. Sandra Feist

Rep. Leigh Finke

Rep. Cedrick Frazier

Rep. Anquam Mahamoud

Rep. Kelly Moller

Rep. Marion Rarick

Rep. Terry Stier

## **Committee Staff:**

#### Committee Administrator

Marissa Manteufel Anna Borgerding

## Committee Legislative Assistant

Liam Edgar

#### Research

Erin Bersie Zach Meinerts

#### House Research

Mary Davis Nathan Hopkins Ben Johnson

## House Fiscal Analyst

John Walz

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes
- III. HF 25 (Zeleznikar): Women's pregnancy centers and maternity homes grant program established, appropriations reduced, and money appropriated.
  - a. Testifiers:
    - i. Lynesha Caron, Pregnancy Choices
    - ii. Jay Belsito, Constituent, Minneapolis
    - iii. Jacinta Lagasse, Women's Life Care Center
    - iv. Samantha Nagler, Equal Justice Works Fellow, Gender Justice (Zoom)
    - v. Sue McClernon, Executive Director, Star of the North Maternity Home (Zoom)
- IV. HF 1 (Anderson, P.E.): Office of the Inspector General established, powers provided, duties specified, fraud reporting tools required, grant oversight duties and powers transferred, executive Offices of Inspector General modified or repealed, and money appropriated.
  - a. Testifier:
    - i. Britta Reitan, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Management and Budget
- V. HF 428 (Scott): Correspondence in government record retention law defined, and minimum three-year retention period for correspondence provided.
  - a. Testifiers:
    - i. Judy Randall, Legislative Auditor, Office of the Legislative Auditor
    - ii. Rebecca Holschuh, Senior Assistant Attorney, Hennepin County
    - iii. Joy Anderson, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy
    - iv. Kathleen Doran-Norton, Volunteer, League of Women Voters Minnesota
    - v. Don Arnosti, Board Member, Water Legacy
    - vi. Matt Ehling, Board Member, Minnesotans for Open Government
    - vii. Rich Neumeister
- VI. Adjournment

Next Meeting: Tuesday, March 4, 2025 at 10:15 AM

## Minnesota House Judiciary Finance & Civil Law Committee