## **Energy Finance and Policy Committee**

## **MINUTES**

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM, on February 25, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

Representative Mekeland moved the minutes of February 20, 2025 be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

H249 (Igo) Carbon-free definition amended.

Representative Igo moved HF249 be referred to the General Register.

Representative Igo moved to adopt the A1 authors amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.** 

The following individuals testified on HF249: Ray Higgins, Minnesota Timber Producers Association Tom McCabe, McCabe Forest Products Rod Enberg, Enberg Logging Rick Horton, Minnesota Forest Industries Sarah Mooradian, CURE

Representative Igo renews the motion that HF249 as Amended be referred to the General Register. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

**HF1311** (**Mekeland**) Procedures governing cost recovery for public utility electric generation and transmission assets modified.

Representative Mekeland moved HF1311 be referred to the General Register.

The following individuals testified on HF1311: Isaac Orr, Always On Energy Research Sam Smith, Department of Commerce

Veda Kanitz, DFL Environmental Caucus Sarah Montalbano, Center of the American Experiment

Representative Mekeland amended the motion that HF1311 be referred to the Ways and Means Committee **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

Representative Mekeland renews the motion that HF1311 be referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Representative Acomb requested a roll call vote. The result is as follows:

## **AYES:**

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave IGO, Spencer MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

## **NAYS:**

ACOMB, Patty, Lead CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam

On a vote of 8 Ayes and 7 Nays **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

The meeting was adjourned at 2:21 PM.

Sharon Goblisch, Committee Legislative Assistant

Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair