Lisa Demuth Speaker of the House District 13 A



Krista Knudsen State Representative District 5 A

February 12, 2025

Director Erich Martens Minnesota State High School League 2100 Freeway Boulevard Brooklyn Center, MN 55430

Via electronic delivery

Mr. Martens,

We are writing to express our concern regarding the Minnesota State High School League's (MSHSL) public comments that they intend to not comply with President Donald J. Trump's executive order issued on February 5, titled *"Keeping Men Out of Women's Sports."*

This executive order intends to uphold fairness and maintain competitive integrity in school-based athletics, including those in Minnesota. By refusing to comply, we believe the MSHSL is jeopardizing equal opportunities for all athletes, particularly female athletes.

We respectfully urge you to reconsider your organization's public comments indicating that you intend not to comply with the President's executive order. We hope to engage in a constructive dialogue to ensure MSHSL policies align with the values of the overwhelming majority of Minnesotans who support fairness and competitive integrity in high school athletics.

In the meantime, legislation has already been introduced in the House by Representative Peggy Scott and several co-authors to restore and preserve fairness and equality for female studentathletes. This bill will ensure options at the elementary and secondary school levels to limit participation to individuals who were biologically born female when participation is limited to participants of one sex.

Thank you for your time and consideration. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Juia M. Donith

Lisa Demuth Speaker of the House

Krista Knudsen State Representative 5A

Has lich

Harry Niska Majority Leader

Patti Anderson State Representative District 33A

Jeff Backer State Representative District 9A

ve Ball

Dave Baker State Representative District 16B

Matt Bliss State Representative District 2B

Greg Davids State Representative District 26B



Tom Dippel State Representative District 41B

Bidal Duran State Representative District 2A

Kith Ralla

Keith Allen State Representative District 19A

Paul Andeson State Representative District 12A

Ben Bakeberg

Ben Bakeberg State Representative District 54B

Peggy Bennett State Representative District 23A

John Burkel State Representative District 1A

Ben Davis State Representative District 6A

Jeff Dotseth State Representative District 11A

Elliot Engen State Representative District 36A

Ima

Marj Fogelman State Representative District 21B

man

Dawn Gillman State Representative District 17A

Josh Heintzeman State Representative District 6B

Spencer Igo State Representative District 7A

Jim Joy State Representative District 4B

Shane Mekeland State Representative District 10A

Mary Franson State Representative District 12B

e Harden

Dawn Gillman State Representative District 17B

Walter Hudson State Representative District 30A

Sturn C. Jacob

Steve Jacob State Representative District 20B

σ

Jon Koznick State Representative District 57A

atricia K Mueller

Patricia Mueller State Representative District 23B

Tom

Tom Murphy State Representative District 9B

Jim Nash Republican Whip 48A

Nathan Nelson State Representative District 11B

Tim O'Driscoll State Representative District 13B

Duane Quam State Representative District 24A

Kristin Robbins State Representative District 37A

saac

Isaac Schultz State Representative District 10B

Paul Novotny State Representative District 30B

Jernie Perryman

Bernie Perryman State Representative District 14A

Drew Roach State Representative District 58B

Max Rymer State Representative District 28B

rico Schuar

Erica Schwartz State Representative District 18A

Peggy Scott State Representative District 31B

Roger Skraba State Representative District 3A

Chris Swedzinski State Representative District 15A

Scott Van Binsbergen State Representative District 16A

Mike Wiener State Representative District 5B

y fred

Tom Sexton State Representative District 19B

Terry Stier State Representative District 22B

Paul Torkelson State Representative District 15B

Cal Warwas State Representative District 7B

Natalie Zeleznikar State Representative District 3B