

H.F. 1316

First engrossment

Subject Work Reporting System – independent contractors

Authors Curran

Analyst Sarah Sunderman

Date March 21, 2025

Summary

The centralized work reporting system (known as the Minnesota New Hire Reporting Center), established under Minnesota Statutes, section 142A.29, requires employers to report all hires to the Department of Children, Youth, and Families within 20 calendar days of the hiring date, except if an individual is hired for less than two months for gross earnings under \$250 per month. Information from the work reporting system is used for child support enforcement in Minnesota or interstate actions and to determine eligibility for applicants and recipients of public assistance programs.

This bill adds a definition of "independent contractor" in the work reporting system, to mean an adult who performs services for compensation in an amount equal to or greater than \$600 per calendar year, to another person or entity doing business in this state. The bill further specifies that an independent contractor includes but is not limited to a person who logs in as a driver to a transportation company's digital network to facilitate delivery of food, goods, or services. The bill makes conforming changes related to the addition of these independent contractors to the work reporting system, and all sections of the bill are effective July 1, 2026.