



- Subject School bus violation fines
- Authors Bakeberg and others
- Analyst Matt Burress (matt.burress@house.mn.gov)
  - Date March 24, 2025

## Summary

This bill increases the minimum fine for misdemeanor violations related to (1) passing a school bus that has deployed stop lights and its stop-signal arm, or (2) passing a school bus on the right-hand side when a school bus is displaying warning amber lights. The fine is increased from at least \$500 under current law to:

- at least \$700 for second violation within ten years; or
- at least \$950 for a third or subsequent violation within ten years.

Effective August 1, 2025.

Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.